Tell a bad processor?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

n79ford

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
410
Just wondering have a computer that i am building, i plug/install everything and turn it on. All fans kick on and what not. Dosnt sound like the hard drive is kicking on but there is no video. I took the card out put it in a working system and it was working alright. Ideas? So would it be a burnt out processor?

AMD Athlon 2600
64meg DDR Nvidia
40gig Maxtor Harddrive
512 SDram
Abit Kt-7 raid board


This will just be a server system nothing special.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
Are you getting any beeps at all? Did you install the motherboard yourself? Are any lights coming on, on the front of the case?
 

n79ford

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
410
-Nope, no beeps at all. no such luck
-Yes i have installed everything my self
-Lights turn on.
I probally should of specified that. my bad
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
First check the position of the Clear Cmos jumper. It should be on pins 1 and 2. Some boards are sent in the clear position(pins 2 and 3). Reseat the video card and memory. Also double check the wiring to make sure it is right.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
CPU heatsink and fan installed correctly? Unplug everything from the motherboard...ribbon cables, all cards except video, disconnect power to all the drives and try again. Did you also place the motherboard standoffs on the backplane correctly so they correspond to only the screw holes in the motherboard? If not you may have shorted the motherboard to the case.
 

n79ford

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
410
Did the jumpers every thing checks out there, same with video card, standoff are correctly installed. cpu check heatsink check
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
188
Try clearing your CMOS battery for 5 minutes. Then try to boot up. Make sure your CPU is seated correctly, and that all wires are firmly placed in the sockets. Also... how many Watts can your PSU put out? Make sure ALL of the mobo wires are plugged in, and that the CPU is seated CORRECTLY.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top