Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Telling excel to go to a specific page in PDF on a FLASH drive

1K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  Rollin_Again 
#1 ·
Hi everyone:

I am new to VB. I have a code that goes from Excel to a specific page in Adobe (which ends up opening it in IE). Problem is that I need it to be able to go on different computers so I am trying to figure out how to tell VB to get the file from the USB flash drive. Every flash drive comes up different on every computer.

Here is my code:

Sub TestPDFlink()
Dim IE As Object, strFile As String, iPageNum As Long
strFile = "F:\folder\nameoffile.pdf"
iPageNum = 125
Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
IE.Navigate strFile & "#Page=" & iPageNum
IE.Visible = True
End Sub

So, where do I tell it to go to whichever drive the flash drive comes up as (E:, F:, etc)? Any ideas?

Thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·
This should work

Code:
Sub TestPDFlink()

On Error GoTo ErrorHandle

Dim IE As Object, strFile As String, iPageNum As Long
strFile = "\folder\nameoffile.pdf"

For i = 97 To 122
If Dir(UCase(Chr(i)) & ":" & strFile) <> "" Then
vFound = True
Exit For
End If
Next i

If vFound <> True Then
MsgBox ("FILE NOT FOUND")
End
Else
iPageNum = 125
IE.Navigate UCase(Chr(i)) & ":" & strFile & "#Page=" & iPageNum
IE.Visible = True
End If
End

ErrorHandle:
If Err.Number = 52 Then
i = i + 1
Resume
End If

End Sub
Regards,
Rollin

#3 ·
If the code I posted above doesn't work you should also be able to do this by evaluating the flash drive's volume name. When I plug in my flash drive to my PC it appears in Windows Explorer with a drive volume name of "KINGSTON" so you should be able to use code to loop through all the PC's drives until it find the one with your specific drive name before executing the code. Just change the portions in red to reflect your correct file name and drive volume name

Code:
Private Declare Function GetVolumeInformation Lib "kernel32" _