1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Temperature causing crashes?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by andrewlowden, Nov 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. andrewlowden

andrewlowden Thread Starter

Hello all,

I recently tried upgrading my system with a new graphics card and some extra RAM to play a few games which my old system wasn't able to. Initially there didn't seem to be a problem, but recently the games seem to freeze for no obvious reason. I have downloaded the latest drivers, BIOS updates and run PC Pitstop Optimize to improve performance, but none of this has worked. I wondered whether the temperature of my machine was impacting the games running, so downloaded SpeedFan to see how warm my computer is. As I'm a bit of a novice I'm not really sure what exactly they temperatures should be, so any advice would be welcome.

SpeedFan tells me that (whilst writing this with no other programs running, and FIFA Manager 07 having crashed about 10 minutes ago) my temperatures are:
    HD0: 38 C
    Core: 56 C
    Ambient: 0 C

Could someone please explain what these readings actually mean, and whether they are OK? Thanks.

------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 11/8/2007, 23:01:28
    Machine name: LOWDEN
    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2
    (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.070227-2300)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
    System Model: Dell DM051
    BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A07
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 2046MB RAM
    Page File: 296MB used, 3132MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)