1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Templates in Word?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by lissad63, Jun 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lissad63

    lissad63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, I am trying to create a template in Word (2002) with customized menus that contain auto text. For some reason, when I send my template to others, they don't get the customized menus. I have been saving everything to my desktop.

    I've gotten it to work once. I wrote down all my steps and followed them exactly but can't get it to work again.

    Can you help?
    Thanks!
    Melissa
     
  2. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
  3. lissad63

    lissad63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Dreamboat,

    That works to give me the menu bar, but it won't let me run the macros because of my security settings. I tried to switch the settings to low - but since I am at work, my company may have disabled that or something. Is there a way to get around that with the code?

    Thanks for your help so far - this was an option I did not know about!
    Melissa
     
  4. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Go to Tools-Macro-Security and go to the SECOND tab and change the settings.
    Also, make it a template.
     
  5. lissad63

    lissad63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Just tried that - and still getting the same message...?
     
  6. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    What's the exact message?
    And what is your macro security set to?
    And who else will use the file?
     
  7. lissad63

    lissad63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    "The macro can not be found or has been disabled because of your Macro Security Settings" and about 3,000 people here at work!
     
  8. lissad63

    lissad63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    oh I figured it out! If you'd like the fix, let me know :)

    Thanks for pointing me to that site!

    Melissa
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/236631

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice