1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Temporary Internet Files incomplete

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by cyndy397, Aug 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cyndy397

    cyndy397 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Why would my computer not compile temporary internet files for a certain block of time during the course of a day?
     
  2. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    In IE, click on Tools> Internet Options> on the General tab, click the Settings button under Temporary Internet files . Tick the button:
    Automatically under Check for newer versions of stored pages
    Make sure that you have at least 100 MB of disk space to store files.
    Then click OK, Apply and OK.
     
  3. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Is this block of time when YOU were on the net, or someone else? If it were someone else, then they could have selectively deleted their tracks?

    Augie65 Having that amount of disk assigned to browser cache is way too much. 15-20MBs is more than adequate.
     
  4. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    WhitPhil,
    Thanks. It was set at that and I have plenty of empty disk space. I have it set to delete the files when I close and I don't use IE anymore anyway.
     
  5. cyndy397

    cyndy397 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    35
     
  6. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    How are you actually looking at the \TIF folder?

    Via Explorer does NOT always show everything.

    You can "try" running CCleaner and use it to just delete the \TIF AND Index.dat files.

    I have noticed that after it "does it's thing", a few more files seem to show up in \TIF.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/490497

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice