Thank GOD I found you folks ! !

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

n2xs4life

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
4
I can access pages in AOL, but not in I.E. outside of AOL. Not ALLL pages, it seems that it's only secure sites, sites with script, etc.
In other words, anything fancy on the website, It won't load. I cut and paste the text into AOL, it loads in 2 seconds. When I check the little error icon in the bottom left corner of the screen, it tells me that I have an error:
Line: 2
Character: 9
Error: Invalid Character
Code: 0

It gives me this error on almost EVERY page that won't load for me. Tried JAVA VM, it didn't work, uninstalled. Tried making sure I have latest Flash and DirectX - still nothing. Turned off Norton, nothing. Turned off firewall, nothing. Checked out the settings in "Tools" "Advanced", all ok. Any thoughts here???

Um. Help.
Uh. Please??


n2
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
In IE, Tools - Internet Options - Advanced -

TICK Disable Script debugging

UNTICK Display a notification about every script error.

While you said you had checked out the settings I am not sure if you have done this.
 

n2xs4life

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
4
I have......
That is what I was referring to.
Any other suggestions besides what I've already tried?

n2
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Dump AOL, There are far better ISP's out there without all the problems or the computer take over of AOL.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
First Name
Bryan
Are you running W95, W98, Windows ME, Windows XP or Windows 2000?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,741
dump aol, dont go for msn, i pay the equivalent of 14$ a mo for 4mb dsl and my isp is one that advertises on phone booths. im satisfied
 

n2xs4life

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
4
Dump AOL??
That's the "Sage Technical Advice" that I receive?

I have an issue with my current set-up. I am looking for someone that can help me resolve the issue with my CURRENT set-up, not advice on which ISP's to use or which fastfood spots have the best fries.....

In response to the person who seems somewhat interested and potentially helpful, I am running Windows ME (unfortunately) - and Thank you for whatever help you may be able to provide.

n2
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,741
check ur firewall, ie privacy and security settings and try updating ie. windows me sux. dump it. i use...
;)
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Messages
615
Hi n2, I agree with you, ppl should either help or not. Do not comment on there ISP............and say DUMP AOL.

Try repairing I.E

Repair IE, Start, Settings, Control Panel, Add/Remove, Microsoft Internet Explorer , Add/Remove, Repair.
You will have to reboot after its finished repairing


ps........If you are using windows me, you cannot use this option as they did not include it in that OS


cheers

bookime
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
78
You can also try upgrading to the latest Internet Explorer if you don't already have it. My computer was giving me script error messages and that's what I did. Replacing is as good as repairing it just um takes longer because you have to download it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top