1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved The Graphic card isn't getting power

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GamerBlackAcid, Jul 27, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    I upgraded my pc by keeping a new case. I plugged the GPU in (it is an AMD RADEON R7 240 2GD3 by MSI) to the motherboard (BIOSTAR TSERIES TA880GB+ WITH PCIe 2.0) and a power supply (400w iBall psu). I fired it up for the first time and it didn't give the display but it did POST. it started windows too. If I open the case, remove the GPU and put it in again, it works then. Please help me with this. (Oh and I activated my windows 10.)
     
  2. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4,902
    First Name:
    John
    It appears that PSU has a poor history of quality and one blog suggests it doesn't have enough amps on the 12v rail for even a basic system.

    https://www.akshatblog.com/iball-lpe223-400-smps-specification-price-and-review/

    At Tom's Hardware:
    https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-r7-240-and-250,3717-9.html
    The chart shows your vid card pulling max of 122 watts.

    That, and with the rest of your hardware, a cheap PSU from India with poor output may simply not have enough wattage for your computer to run properly.
     
  3. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Actually it happened after the case change. Before it worked perfectly, now it isn't. Just an extra RGB strip is added. If I of my pc and on it again, it works.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,978
    First boot or cold boot problems are very often pw supply problems. You need a better quality pw supply.
     
  5. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    So, crjdriver. Can you say why it is not starting up in cold boot? Before the case upgrade there was a DVD drive. Now it isn't there as the case doesn't support it anymore. The things that are added are just a RGB strip (just one) and 120mm fan instead of 80mm.
     
  6. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Oh and if possible, please choose the best power supply for me. My PC details are attached below. Only choose it in amazon.in website as i am from India. I want one below Rs. 2000/-
     

    Attached Files:

    • sys.txt
      File size:
      588 KB
      Views:
      3
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,650
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to your log, these are the hardware specs for your computer which is running Windows 10 Enterprise Version 1903 Build 18362 64-bit:

    cpu.JPG

    gpu.JPG

    Biostar TA880GB+ Motherboard

    8 GB DDR3 RAM

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4,902
    First Name:
    John
    Rs. 2000 converts into ~30 US dollars.
    Here in the US, that wouldn't buy a decent PSU even on sale.
     
  9. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Alright then. Can you recommend me the perfect psu for my pc in the website I provided?
     
  10. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4,902
    First Name:
    John
    Seasonic is a brand with a good reputation.
    It's always best to look for reviews on specific models


    crjdriver is the expert. Perhaps he can suggest others.
     
  11. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Everyone thanks for recommending on this.
    I'll try buying a 500 watt PSU with 12v of 32 amps.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,650
    First Name:
    Frank
    Your old computer should be fine with that PSU. (y)

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1230637

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice