the Order of Installation?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
Can anyone help me here? I just wanna see if there's a proper way of installing. I have tried different ways in installing drivers and I think it's a bit different. Anyway, can anyone just correct me w/ this:

After partitioning and formatting.

1. Install Windows 98se
2. Install VIA 4-in-1 drivers
3. Install Modem and Network cards and its drivers (slot 4 and 5)
4. Update IE to 6.o and it’s updates
5. Install Direct 8.1X
6. Install onboard sound driver
7. Install Asus GeForce 2 V7700 GTS driver

Hmmm..am I missing anything?

This is for

Asus A7V266-E
AMD Athlon XP 1700
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
It looks pretty good to me except you left out the 14,000 restarts of Windows. :)

BTW, I'd also suggest loading the W98 CD to the hardrive and running setup from the hardrive. That way in the future if adding or removing Windows components, you won't need to insert the CD. It will copy what it needs form the cabs on the drive.

md c:\windows
md c:\windows\options
md c:\windows\options\cabs
copy d:\win98\*.* c:\windows\options\cabs\*.*

Now remove the CD.

At the a:\> prompt type in the following and press enter.

c:\windows\options\cabs\setup

You'll be prompted during the install that the Windows folder already exists and it will suggest you install to Windows.000

Remove the .000 from the end and let it install to the existing folder Windows
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
hey Brian

thanks

so, installing Direct 8.1x before the video driver is good? I've heard issues bout that.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Actually I didn't notice that. Personally I'd install the video card drivers just after the 4-1 drivers. Then do the rest and lastly install DX.

I'm not real up on the issues with the different video cards. If there are any issues that I'm not aware of, I'm sure someone will post.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
And, if I may add, once you've got your installation files on your hard drive, do this, so that you won't need to point to them any more:

Go to Start/Run, and type Regedit.

Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup.

Doubleclick the 'sourcepath' string value in the right pane, and change it to match the new pathway.

This way when the CD is called for, it will
automatically go to the folder on the hard drive.

Good luck,
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Tony, if my memory serves me correctly, if you install from the hardrive, Windows sets up that key for you.

Krzy, if you do install from the drive, let us know if the registry entry was already there or if you needed to add it. That way we'll know for sure.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
I don't do installs frequently enough to be 100 percent sure. I do about four a year on average and it's pretty second nature when I'm doing them so my memory could easily be bad. I guess we'll see if Krzy installs from the HD.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Bryan is correct. When you install, the Sourcepath entry is entered into the registry. That change is only necessary if you want to move the cabs somewhere else after install.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Originally posted by Mosaic1
That change is only necessary if you want to move the cabs somewhere else after install.
Thanks Mo,

That's indeed what I've done.

I've never installed Windows from the harddrive myself, but it's certainly something I'm going to try when the time comes.
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
Originally posted by Bryan
It looks pretty good to me except you left out the 14,000 restarts of Windows. :)

BTW, I'd also suggest loading the W98 CD to the hardrive and running setup from the hardrive. That way in the future if adding or removing Windows components, you won't need to insert the CD. It will copy what it needs form the cabs on the drive.

md c:\windows
md c:\windows\options
md c:\windows\options\cabs
copy d:\win98\*.* c:\windows\options\cabs\*.*

Ok kewl,

So, I do this from the very beginning? Of course right after formatting.
When I install a device it will go directly to this folder ? So, I wont need the Win98se CD...right?
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
After you've formatted and the PC restarts, take the option to "Start With CDRom Support". Then do your commands.

BTW, the Copy command syntax I posted assumes the boot diskette assigns "D" to the CDRom drive. When your booting up attempting to get CDRom support, somewhere on the screen at the very end, it tells you what drive letter it has temporarily assigned to the CDRom drive. It will look something like this, "Drive X =MSCD001", where "X" is the drive letter that's been temporarily assigned to your CDRom drive for the install. Make a note of what drive letter it displays. If you don't see that phrase on the screen then you didn't get CD Rom support and won't be able to install W98 from the CD or the hardrive.

In fact I'd suggest booting to the W98 boot diskette and making sure you can access the CDRom drive before you do any partitioning or formatting of the drive. Just boot with CDRom supoort and then insert the CD. Then just do a dir to be sure you can "see" the drive.

dir d:
 

KrzyPrk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
328
ok thanks brian

will do next week when i get all the parts

i'll post back if i run to any problems
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Sorry I thought this was a PC that already had Windows on it and you were reinstalling to a clean drive. That was my mistake. Anyway, my advice is the same except for the comments about checking for CDRom support before you fdisk and format the drive. Good luck and let us know how it went.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top