1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

The Page Cannot be Displayed in IE but do in AOL???

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Libra, Jan 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Libra

    Libra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Hi,
    I'm running Windows 98se (all patches), IE6 (all patches) and my ISP is AOL (Version 5) dial up, HP8665C pc, 30gb harddrive and 256mb memory.
    When using IE on certain pages (broadband forums, HP forums and a few other sites) I get the page cannot be displayed and at the bottom is "cannot find server or dns error". I can immediately access that site with the AOL browser. I also want to mention that if, using the standalone IE, I first go to www.anonymizer.com and put the address in their address bar I can access the site!
    I've been to a few forums and AOL help and haven't been able to resolve this problem. Due to settings AOL had me do in October I had to remove IE and also remove AOL, and recently I followed a setting they gave me in the AOL adapter and I wasn't able to access any sites in either browser!
    I am not running a firewall. I don't have any hosts file except hosts.sam and LMHosts.sam. In IE settings the check for proxy box is unchecked. My Wsock32.dll is 40kb and version 4.10.1998.
    When I removed and reinstalled my AOL adapter yesterday I got a message about Version Conflict re snmpapi.dll - my version 5.00.2195.5513. It asked do you want to keep this file - I said yes. I'm assuming I was saying yes to my version. I now have my version in C\Windows and C\Windows\Options\Cabs but I have version 4.0 in C\Windows\System and version 5.00.1662.1
    in C\Windows\AOL5.0\net\win98.se. I don't know if this version conflict could be causing a problem, and again, I can access these sites in the AOL browser but not the standalone IE.
    Does anyone have an idea of what the problem could be?
    I would appreciate any help.
    Sincerely, Libra

    Edit: I just did a ping for broadband reports and here's the results:

    C:\WINDOWS>ping www.broadbandreports.com

    Pinging broadbandreports.com [209.123.109.175] wi

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.123.109.175:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (10
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
     
  2. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    What happens if you try to ping the IP ?
    209.123.109.175
     
  3. Libra

    Libra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Here it is:

    C:\WINDOWS>ping 209.123.109.175

    Pinging 209.123.109.175 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.123.109.175:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (10
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    Nancy
     
  4. Libra

    Libra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Here it is:

    C:\WINDOWS>ping 209.123.109.175

    Pinging 209.123.109.175 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.123.109.175:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (10
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    Libra
     
  5. yul

    yul

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    bump
     
  6. Bikeralley

    Bikeralley

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    This looks like the same trouble i seem to be having.
    i can go there using a proxy but not by just typing it in.
     
  7. yul

    yul

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    what could that mean?
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    post a hijackthis log
    go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip , and download 'Hijack

    This!'.
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

    It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or

    even required,
    so do NOT fix anything yet.
    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
     
  9. Libra

    Libra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Since my original post I did a lot of things. I removed everything in Network Neighborhood, removed the communications check in Windows setup (add/remove), removed the Winsock key from my registry and then put everything back. This was from an M$ knowledge base article. I also changed settings in IE, etc. I also changed my dial-up number - this helped with one item I couldn't access.
    Finally, I installed att.net for a month to see if I had the same problem with IE not accessing certain pages. I COULD ACCESS EACH AND EVERY PROBLEM PAGE with the standalone IE. So this tells me that AOL is messing with IE connecting to those pages.
    There could be a lot of things causing this problem, but since I didn't have this problem with att.net I believe AOL was the culprit.
    Sincerely, Libra
     
  10. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    They may not have their DNS servers updated . .
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116054

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice