1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

The RPC server is unavailable.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Rupe, May 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rupe

    Rupe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    I have windows XP and am getting this error. Any suggestions?

    I recently had to use Windows Recovery console to restore the windows\system32\config\system file.

    My system boots now, but I had to re-load some drivers and now am getting this RPC error when I try to load some additional programs/utilities.

    Any ideas on how to remove/fix? I went to Microsoft and they say it is a windows 2000 error?
     
  2. Scorpion

    Scorpion

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Sounds like it's been disabled....maybe...lol


    Go to Start>Run, type services.msc, hit enter.

    ***DISCLAIMER.....BE CAREFUL IN HERE....IT'S AS BAD AS MESSING IN THE REGISTRY...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!***

    Scroll down until you see Remote Procedure Call (RPC), then look under the Status column to see if it is started. If so, you have a problem. If not, look under the Startup Type to see if it is set to disabled, manual, or automatic (It should be automatic). Change it as necessary (right click the line, click properties, then change it in the drop down and click apply).

    Scorp.
     
  3. Rupe

    Rupe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Ok, looks like I have a problem...
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC) status = Started startup type= Automatic
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Locator status= not started startup type= manual

    Should I "Start" the RPC locator?
     
  4. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Go ahead and startup the RPC Locator to see if it makes a difference whan trying to load and run the other programs/utilities.

    Perhaps there is a dependency the programs/utilities have on a service that depends upon RPC running but is not actually running itself. Go through the list of services that depend on RPC by right-clicking on its Properties in the Services window and then click on the Dependencies tab.

    -- Tom
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/469027

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice