the "run" command

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

2208alan

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
Messages
18
when I go, "start, run" and type in either ipconfig or sfc, I might see a quick blip if I'm watching, but it does not stay open. What could be the problem, thanks, alan
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
1,275
Start --->
Programs--->
Command Prompt

now type it in and see why it blips and disappears :)
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2003
Messages
1,429
click strat run then cmd that will open the box then type in ipconfig or sfc
 

2208alan

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
Messages
18
I ran the ipconfig and it gave me info I was looking for, (ip address), but not the pop-up for it. When I put sfc in, it gave me 6 options, like, /scannow, /scanonce, but when I tried them it said, scannow is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
You need to enter program switches after the name of the program.

For example, from a command prompt, enter:

sfc /scannow
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
SFC is somewhat different is XP then it is in 98. It is more automated.

With both these and other similar programs you need to speficy the switch/argument/option after the command. To get the list of options type the command followed by /? from a command prompt(CMD).

example: sfc /scannow
ipconfig /renew

Edit: Guess I type too slow.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
That's nothing new with XP.

Switches for programs have always been needed to be entered after them.

For example:

format /s - has been around since the DOS days.
fdisk /mbr

There's no difference between how Win98 or XP uses the ipconfig switch or the options available.
 

2208alan

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
Messages
18
How do you know, or find what to type in, thanks Also, why does msconfig pop up ok?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Typically, for DOS commands, type in the command with a /? or /help switch afterwards.

For example:

sfc /? brings up:

C:\Documents and Settings\Bob>sfc /?

Microsoft(R) Windows XP Windows File Checker Version 5.1
(C) 1999-2000 Microsoft Corp. All rights reserved

Scans all protected system files and replaces incorrect versions with correct
crosoft versions.

SFC [/SCANNOW] [/SCANONCE] [/SCANBOOT] [/REVERT] [/PURGECACHE] [/CACHESIZE=x]


/SCANNOW Scans all protected system files immediately.
/SCANONCE Scans all protected system files once at the next boot.
/SCANBOOT Scans all protected system files at every boot.
/REVERT Return scan to default setting.
/PURGECACHE Purges the file cache.
/CACHESIZE=x Sets the file cache size.
 

2208alan

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
Messages
18
If I type sfc/?, it says windows cannot find it, checkspelling, try again
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
I'm getting confused.

In an earlier post, you said "When I put sfc in, it gave me 6 options, like, /scannow, /scanonce"

Now it can't be found.

How did you run it previously?
 

2208alan

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
Messages
18
Sorry, I first tried it in the "run" command, and then in cmd where I had the 6 options and then I tried it in the "run" command, under sfc/?, which is where I thought you meant to try it, as I already got the options in cmd when I tried it there. So, I probably can't use my "run" command for this anymore? thanks
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I meant with SFC - it's a little different from the one in the Windows 98 version where it was more interactive. I'm quite aware that switches have been around since the early days.

Edit: the proper command is SFC /? - notice the space between SFC and /?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Generally I like to use the Run command just for Windows programs that are in the path.

I like to use the command window for running DOS based programs. This way they just don't close so quickly on you, like in the very first post that started this thread.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
110
Is the screen you're looking for actually "winipcfg" - IP configuration screen? That's only in Windows 9x. "msconfig" worked fine in Run b/c it doesn't need a switch and it's a program. It's not that you can't use "ipconfig" and "sfc" in Run anymore, you wouldn't have been able to to begin with. Mine automatically blips out as well on my winXP. You need to first type "cmd" in the Run prompt to bring up the command prompt in XP and 2000. Correct me if I'm wrong for I could be mistaken.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top