1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

the "run" command

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by 2208alan, Apr 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 2208alan

    2208alan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    when I go, "start, run" and type in either ipconfig or sfc, I might see a quick blip if I'm watching, but it does not stay open. What could be the problem, thanks, alan
     
  2. ohheck

    ohheck

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,275
    Start --->
    Programs--->
    Command Prompt

    now type it in and see why it blips and disappears :)
     
  3. colmaca

    colmaca

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,429
    click strat run then cmd that will open the box then type in ipconfig or sfc
     
  4. 2208alan

    2208alan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    I ran the ipconfig and it gave me info I was looking for, (ip address), but not the pop-up for it. When I put sfc in, it gave me 6 options, like, /scannow, /scanonce, but when I tried them it said, scannow is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    You need to enter program switches after the name of the program.

    For example, from a command prompt, enter:

    sfc /scannow
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    SFC is somewhat different is XP then it is in 98. It is more automated.

    With both these and other similar programs you need to speficy the switch/argument/option after the command. To get the list of options type the command followed by /? from a command prompt(CMD).

    example: sfc /scannow
    ipconfig /renew

    Edit: Guess I type too slow.
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    That's nothing new with XP.

    Switches for programs have always been needed to be entered after them.

    For example:

    format /s - has been around since the DOS days.
    fdisk /mbr

    There's no difference between how Win98 or XP uses the ipconfig switch or the options available.
     
  8. 2208alan

    2208alan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    How do you know, or find what to type in, thanks Also, why does msconfig pop up ok?
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Typically, for DOS commands, type in the command with a /? or /help switch afterwards.

    For example:

    sfc /? brings up:

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bob>sfc /?

    Microsoft(R) Windows XP Windows File Checker Version 5.1
    (C) 1999-2000 Microsoft Corp. All rights reserved

    Scans all protected system files and replaces incorrect versions with correct
    crosoft versions.

    SFC [/SCANNOW] [/SCANONCE] [/SCANBOOT] [/REVERT] [/PURGECACHE] [/CACHESIZE=x]


    /SCANNOW Scans all protected system files immediately.
    /SCANONCE Scans all protected system files once at the next boot.
    /SCANBOOT Scans all protected system files at every boot.
    /REVERT Return scan to default setting.
    /PURGECACHE Purges the file cache.
    /CACHESIZE=x Sets the file cache size.
     
  10. 2208alan

    2208alan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    If I type sfc/?, it says windows cannot find it, checkspelling, try again
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    I'm getting confused.

    In an earlier post, you said "When I put sfc in, it gave me 6 options, like, /scannow, /scanonce"

    Now it can't be found.

    How did you run it previously?
     
  12. 2208alan

    2208alan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Sorry, I first tried it in the "run" command, and then in cmd where I had the 6 options and then I tried it in the "run" command, under sfc/?, which is where I thought you meant to try it, as I already got the options in cmd when I tried it there. So, I probably can't use my "run" command for this anymore? thanks
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    I meant with SFC - it's a little different from the one in the Windows 98 version where it was more interactive. I'm quite aware that switches have been around since the early days.

    Edit: the proper command is SFC /? - notice the space between SFC and /?
     
  14. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Generally I like to use the Run command just for Windows programs that are in the path.

    I like to use the command window for running DOS based programs. This way they just don't close so quickly on you, like in the very first post that started this thread.
     
  15. myvicisslow

    myvicisslow

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Is the screen you're looking for actually "winipcfg" - IP configuration screen? That's only in Windows 9x. "msconfig" worked fine in Run b/c it doesn't need a switch and it's a program. It's not that you can't use "ipconfig" and "sfc" in Run anymore, you wouldn't have been able to to begin with. Mine automatically blips out as well on my winXP. You need to first type "cmd" in the Run prompt to bring up the command prompt in XP and 2000. Correct me if I'm wrong for I could be mistaken.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/216916

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice