1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

The Sims 4 instalment problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by holly.osborne, Jan 4, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    I recently bought The Sims 4 on the EA website, and once the purchase had gone through I began the download straight away. Five hours later, the download finished and so I proceed to begin the instalment. However, roughly 10 minutes after a pop up arrived saying: "Error: The VC++ runtime redistibutable package was not installed successfully. Setup cannot continue. (1602)" I don't know what to do, and after trying to find the solution since 8am (6 and a half hours ago) I would really just like an answer! So if you know how to solve it, please help me!!
     
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
  3. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
  4. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Restart the pc and try again...

    Let me know
     
  5. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    I got the same result.
     
  6. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    What's the make and model of pc?

    Version and bitrate of Windows
     
  7. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    It's an Acer Aspire E5-571
    Windows 10 64-bit
    Intel Core i5-4210U 1.7GHz with Turbo Boost up to 2.7GHz
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2016
  8. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
  9. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    I started downloading the things I needed to, but halfway through it stopped and said that another instalment needs completing first, however I have nothing else being installed.
     
  10. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    I am getting rdy to start dinner...

    I will be able to assist later this afternoon...
     
  11. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Okay, thank you
     
  12. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Holly, can you reproduce the above error message?

    And then post a screenshot of it?
     
  13. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
  14. holly.osborne

    holly.osborne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    I have to go and eat dinner, so I might not be able to reply for a while, I'll definitely be back on later though.
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  15. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Press control alt del and open task manager.

    Locate explorer.exe
    Right click and select end task

    In the new or open box in upper left, select new task and type in

    Explorer.exe

    Press enter

    Try install again

    If this don't work I'm not sure what else to try. :/
     
    holly.osborne likes this.
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Sims instalment problem
  1. historychick
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    27
  2. MichaelTrotta12
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    356
  3. PandaGirl2002
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    279
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1163564

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice