1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

The Sims Complete Collection (Play without CD) (Play in window)

Discussion in 'Games' started by jacfalcon, Dec 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jacfalcon

    jacfalcon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    I recently got some help running this game already, but I had two other things that I would like to know.

    First is playing without the CD. I know this is legal when you own the game, so I'd like to know what I would use to make this game able to boot without the CD. I searched for the topic because I know there are a lot about this idea already, but the terms used are contained in many posts so I oculdn't locate one, plus if someone knew in particular to this game it would be better.

    Second is a program that would let me play the game in a window. Again hard to find and better luck if someone knows for this game in particular.

    Thanks a ton!
    -Jac Falcon:cool:
     
  2. RagabashMoon

    RagabashMoon

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    While it may be technically legal to play without the CD if you own the game, requiring the CD is one of EA/Maxis' copy protection methods. Therefore, as far as I know, any attempt to play without the CD is therefore a possible attempt to circumvent copy protection, which is not allowed to be discussed on these forums.
     
  3. jacfalcon

    jacfalcon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Ok, um, thanks then. What about playing in windowed mode, anyone?
     
  4. RagabashMoon

    RagabashMoon

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Hmmm as for that part, not off the top of my head, although I have a friend that prefers her games windowed, so she might know, I'll ask her and get back to you ASAP.
     
  5. RagabashMoon

    RagabashMoon

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Ok, she said add a -w to the command line, so like for example...

    On your shortcut it should say like "C:\Program Files\Sims\Sims.exe" or whatever, just add -w after the quotations, and that should run the game in a window. :)

    So "C:\blahblah\blah.exe" -w
     
  6. jacfalcon

    jacfalcon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    K, I'll try it, thanks a bunch! (to both of you)
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    i believe it's -windowed
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    my bad, try /win instead.
     
  9. RagabashMoon

    RagabashMoon

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    That wouldnt' work, it's a "switch" on the command line, as I said my friend ALWAYS runs her games windowed, and that's how she does it, both with The Sims and The Sims 2.
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    ALT+Enter made games from Full Screen to Windowed too, but I'm not too sure if that combo is still in use
     
  11. RagabashMoon

    RagabashMoon

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Yeah, depends on the game itself. I know Everquest and Everquest II have that.

    I mean really, running a game windowed is a function of the game itself.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/659133