1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved The Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RequiredToBeANoob, Nov 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RequiredToBeANoob

    RequiredToBeANoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    First Name:
    Rahul
    Hey everyone,
    Nice to see a good tech website that desires to help.
    I have a Dell Vostro 270 with the following specifications:
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1 Single Language, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G2030 @ 3.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3970 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -2046 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 454 GB (191 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 084J0R
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled

    I want to upgrade this PC for Youtube Recording and Streaming but I am not looking for a new processor since my motherboard cant support it.(as of my research concludes)
    So the RAM and the Graphics card is the main aim

    Budget: 150$ to 200$.

    Thanks
     
  2. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    Hello RequiredToBeANoob,

    Upgrading the RAM is not an issue but the add on video card could be depending on what power supply is fitted in the computer, would you be ok with shutting down, disconnecting the power cord and taking off the side of the computer to get the info for us, we need the brand and model name or number of the PSU so that we can check the specs.
     
  3. RequiredToBeANoob

    RequiredToBeANoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    First Name:
    Rahul
    According to the manual , Wattage is 300W
     
  4. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    You cannot go off what is in a user manual and I`m afraid that a typical 300W Dell power supply is not good enough to support a GTX 1050 which does not even require a seperate power dongle from the PSU.

    Add on video card manufacturers will often overstate the required power supply but what is recommended should be adhered to both on the wattage and the amps required on the +12V rail.

    See attachment below;
     

    Attached Files:

  5. RequiredToBeANoob

    RequiredToBeANoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    First Name:
    Rahul
    So i wouldnt be able to upgrade if I dont change my PSU?
    A processor like Pentium G2030 is unable to handle games and softwares like Fortnite and Adobe Premier.
     
  6. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    Without knowing what PSU is presently fitted we cannot give you an informed answer I`m afraid.

    Fortnite minimum requirements for PC

    • CPU: Core i3 2.4 Ghz
    • CPU SPEED: Info
    • RAM: 4 GB
    • OS: Windows 7/8/10 64-bit
    • VIDEO CARD: Intel HD 4000
    • PIXEL SHADER: 3.0
    • VERTEX SHADER: 3.0
    Spec requirements for Adobe here
     
  7. RequiredToBeANoob

    RequiredToBeANoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    First Name:
    Rahul
    I ll give u the PSU details within 48 hours.
     
  8. RequiredToBeANoob

    RequiredToBeANoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    First Name:
    Rahul
    PSU installed is a DEll POWER UNIT OPTIPLEX and its wattage is 300W.
     
  9. RequiredToBeANoob

    RequiredToBeANoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    First Name:
    Rahul
  10. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    621
  11. RequiredToBeANoob

    RequiredToBeANoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    First Name:
    Rahul
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1218991

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice