1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Thermal margin

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by digger747, Dec 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. digger747

digger747 Thread Starter

I have been building AMD machines on and off for over 10 years.just replaced the motherboard on a Intel core 2 duo machine.In the bios in hardware monitoring it states the thermal margin as being 69C on the processor. Motherboard 26C.My processor temp ok?

2. win2kpro

win2kpro

You didn't post any specs for the machine so how would any one know about the processor temperature? Just off the top of my head, I can't think of any C2D processors that should be running that warm at idle.

Post the make, model and revision number (if applicable) of your board, the BIOS version, and the model and sSpec # of the processor. Also, are you using the standard Intel cooler or a 3rd party cooler? If you are using a 3rd party cooler post the make and model with a link to the cooler.

3. digger747

digger747 Thread Starter

Sorry, its a intel Executive series motherboard.Model DQ45CB motherboard.. Firmware 5.2.0.1009. Has aftermarket cooler.I moved processor over to new board and installed artic silver thermal paste. 4 gigs memory, 1 terabyte hard drive. X1300 video card.I beleive that the processor is not over heating.I think the terminology in bios of [Processor thermal margin ] does not mean what actual temp of processor is.I didnt build it, only repaired it for a friend.she bought it from a computer store and they charged her $2200.00 for it with 1 year warranty.I just done a format and clean install of windows 7 64 bit.She has had it for 3 years.Processor is an E-8400. after googling [processor thermal margin ] i see it means something else. Not actual temp.

4. digger747