1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

This 120-Gig drive is now only 48 Gigs

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Alex Ethridge, Sep 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    I put in a 120-Gig drive for a friend some three years ago. It worked fine until about six months back when he called to complain he had lost a major portion of the files on the drive. He recovered from this on his own and I didn't make a visit.

    Yesterday, I was setting up his new UPS and I noticed his drive was reported as 48 Gigabytes in FDisk and 120 Gigabytes in Disk Management. Actual usable space was 48 Gigs.

    Long story short, I have now done a DOD erase and an RCMP erase and I still can't get more than 48 Gigabytes out of this drive.

    Any suggestions about what could have happened here? I've never see anything like this before.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try running the disk manufacturer's diagnostic on it, see what that reports.
     
  3. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    That's a good idea. I'll get on it this afternoon. I'm out for a service call.
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Depending on the version of FDISK you are using, it can report incorrect partition sizes with these larger drives. I would not take that as the actual size of the drive. Disk Management which does report it correctly is the one to go by.
     
  5. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    In this case, Disk Management is wrong for sure.

    Western Digital Lifeguard Tools reports no errors on extensive diagnostics; but, on writing zeros to the drive, it says (the last line is the only one that really matters):

    ===== begin report =====
    09/30/2006, 10:27:18
    SELECTED OPTION - "SMART STATUS"
    SELECTED DRIVE -
    Model : WDC WD1200BB-00CAA0
    S/N : WD-WMA8C1204044
    Firmware : 16.06V16
    C H S : 232581 16 63
    Capacity : 120G
    Drive : 0 Port: 0xE400
    RESULTS - "NO ERRORS FOUND"
    ERROR/STATUS CODE = 0000


    09/30/2006, 10:32:33
    SELECTED OPTION - "QUICK TEST"
    SELECTED DRIVE -
    Model : WDC WD1200BB-00CAA0
    S/N : WD-WMA8C1204044
    Firmware : 16.06V16
    C H S : 232581 16 63
    Capacity : 120G
    Drive : 0 Port: 0xE400
    RESULTS - "NO ERRORS FOUND"
    ERROR/STATUS CODE = 0000


    09/30/2006, 10:32:52
    SELECTED OPTION - "SMART STATUS"
    SELECTED DRIVE -
    Model : WDC WD1200BB-00CAA0
    S/N : WD-WMA8C1204044
    Firmware : 16.06V16
    C H S : 232581 16 63
    Capacity : 120G
    Drive : 0 Port: 0xE400
    RESULTS - "NO ERRORS FOUND"
    ERROR/STATUS CODE = 0000


    09/30/2006, 11:22:45
    SELECTED OPTION - "EXTENDED TEST"
    SELECTED DRIVE -
    Model : WDC WD1200BB-00CAA0
    S/N : WD-WMA8C1204044
    Firmware : 16.06V16
    C H S : 232581 16 63
    Capacity : 120G
    Drive : 0 Port: 0xE400
    RESULTS - "NO ERRORS FOUND"
    ERROR/STATUS CODE = 0000


    09/30/2006, 11:24:13
    SELECTED OPTION - "WRITE ZEROS"
    SELECTED DRIVE -
    Model : WDC WD1200BB-00CAA0
    S/N : WD-WMA8C1204044
    Firmware : 16.06V16
    C H S : 232581 16 63
    Capacity : 120G
    Drive : 0 Port: 0xE400
    RESULTS - "IRQ TIMEOUT"
    ERROR/STATUS CODE = 0112

    ===== end report =====
    I don't know what error 0112 is. I can't find anything useful on it. I'm just gonna' replace the drive and may play around with this later.
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    From your first post you said it was a 120 gig drive and disk management reported it as a 120 gig drive. What was the part that was wrong?
     
  7. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    Drive properties shows it as 40-. I verified that by copying 50 Gigs of files to it. It stopped at 40- with an "insufficient drive space" error.
     
  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Guess the different information between the first post and the last one is what was causing the confusion.

    So in Disk Management, what does it show not only the drive but the partition size to be
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,495
    First Name:
    Rob
    What does the BIOS say abouit the drive? It doesn't have any manually inputted parameters for heads and cylinders does it?
     
  10. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    BIOS is set to "Auto Detect". It is recognized in the POST by its model number.

    As for Disk Management, I can't do anything more there as I have zeroed the drive and am in the process of replacing it.

    I am satisfied something has gone wrong in the drive's hardware or firmware; I just would like to know what, exactly. "Fixing" it isn't really an option as I wouldn't trust it and neither would the owner.

    The only reason for wanting to know what went bad is that kind of knowledge is sometimes useful in future troubleshooting.

    I may get it FDisked and formatted again later and give you some additional information.
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If fixing it isn't an option, then I wouldn't worry about it. There are any number of things that can cause a hard drive to fail. It is one the more intricate mechanical devices in a computer. Not like memory or a process which have no moving parts.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'd use the WD utility to write zeros to the drive, then stick it back in to see if it's recognized properly. This will eliminate any possibility that drive data was causing the oddball indications.

    I have to agree that I'd just replace it, unless the replacement exhibits the same behavior. :)
     
  13. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    Writing zeros to the drive is where I got the 0112 error and it aborted with the message I should call Tech support.

    I'm in the process now of entering CHS manually just to see what that does.
     
  14. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    Choosing User in the BIOS for this drive still doesn't allow me to manually input CHS. It just skips over those settings when I try to go to them. I'm done with it.

    I'm ready to wrap it in aluminum foil and waxed paper, put it into a fitted paper sack, staple it shut, tape it and drop it into the garbage.
     
  15. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,996
    Oh, and thanks for all the help.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/505587

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice