this computer has been locked!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

remofire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
33
I am still having trouble with this laptop. It is a dell Latitude D510 with Windows XP Professional. Almost everytime I walk away for an hour or two I come back to a screen that say this computer has been locked. Only ( my user name ) or an administrator can unlock this computer. Press control-alt-delets to unlock. Then I have to unlock it again. It is getting old doing this 5 or 6 times a day. How can I disable this? Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
2,584
Right click anywhere on your desktop (not icons of course), select properties. On the ScreenSaver tab uncheck "On Resume, Display Welcome Screen". Voila!
 

remofire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
33
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm................. mine says "on resume password protect" and the box is NOT checked. I don't have one that says on resume, display welcome screen.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
If not screen saver then it's probably Standby. If the computer is going into Standby:

Control Panel - Power options - Advanced tab - uncheck "Prompt for password when computer resumes from standby."
 

remofire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
33
OK, this appears to possibly be it, I will just have to leave it long enough to go off again and see what happens. I had one computer that it didn't let me do that to. I am set up as an administrator with unlimited rights but when I go under power options and advanced the "always show icons on the taskbar line" and all the other lines are not in black just light gray letters. The only line in black is the "prompt for password when computer resumes from standby" line. When I uncheck that box and hit apply it says access denied. At the top of the access denied box in the blue area it says "Power Policy Manager unable to set global policy"
 

remofire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
33
DoubleAgentM said:
If it is a work laptop or on a domain, then it could be a GPO that was pushed or is being pushed through your network at work. You may have to request to have the GPO removed, which they most likely will not do because of security issues.

http://technet2.microsoft.com/windo...4cad-45d4-94c2-d3471e9cf10b1033.mspx?mfr=true

Picture of our 15 minute lockout GPO attached
I don't think it is pushed through our network because it is only the laptops doing it, none of the other computers have this issue. ( knock on wood ) ha ha. I got drafted into taking care of my schools computers and trying to get help from the board is like pulling teeth without novacaine! But when I am running all over the school and up and down steps several times a day to unlock a computer that I just unlocked an hour ago, it was time to try and figure out something. I have only had one computer go on standby since I tried what Terrynet said and so far it seems to have worked.
 

remofire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
33
OK from what I can tell that seems to have done the trick, they are all failing to " lock " ha ha! I just have 3 in the building that are still doing it and they all have the same symptom that I described above.

I am set up as an administrator with unlimited rights but when I go under power options and advanced the "always show icons on the taskbar line" and all the other lines are not in black just light gray letters. The only line in black is the "prompt for password when computer resumes from standby" line. When I uncheck that box and hit apply it says access denied. At the top of the access denied box in the blue area it says "Power Policy Manager unable to set global policy"
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
If I understand you correctly the uncheck is being applied successfully to the individual PC, but the Policy cannot be changed that way. I know nothing about Policy setting; maybe DoubleAgentM will drop by again.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
If this machine is a Domain member that policy is being forced down and there is nothing you can do about it. Thank goodness for a little security.

Ours lock after 10 minutes.
 

remofire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
33
I guess that is basically it, thaks to you all I only have 3 laptop computers doing this now. I did have 25 doing it. I am not sure why I can't change the setting on the 3 but it is a whole lot better than 25! Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
So, you had prefer that anyone walking by a machine be able to do anything they desire under another's logon credentials?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
It sounds to me (from post #9) that these are computers in a school for general teacher and/or student use, and those users do not have passwords to any accounts. If my interpretation is correct, proper policy would be for Standby w/o locking.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top