1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

this is ridonkulous..soo slow

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Honey2aB, Feb 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Honey2aB

    Honey2aB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Everything is so frakken slow. Pages take 30 seconds to load or don't load. That stupid little bluish round icon just keeps going and going, or the gray icon. Videos look like those funny chinese movies..the lip movement and voice are not in sync. Sometimes the page I am on will just shut off for a second or 2 then turn back on. Will ignore commands. If I click on the firefox icon, to basically go there, laptop decides..nope don't want to, and won't. Have to reclick. Actions are jerky. Or my personal fave...firefox is not responding...CONTINUOUSLY. For example..am on a page and want to click to the next page..not responding..wait..then it goes, click to the next page..not responding..wait..you get my point. If you would like me to do or want me to do anything else just ask. Thanx.
    Simple answers, please, as am still computer illiterate after all this time. For some reason this stuff does not want to stick in the brain.. Go figure. Oh well..





    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD E-350 Processor, AMD64 Family 20 Model 1 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2662 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6310 Graphics, 384 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 446198 MB, Free - 369187 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Portable PC
    Antivirus: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    H :
    Which browser are you using?
    As a test, try IE9 with no add ons.
    start > programs / all programs > accessories > system tools > IE9

    Do you connect to the internet using wi fi or ethernet?
    What's your wireless speed?
    If you use ethernet, is your Toshiba's card ethernet or Giganet?

    To which brand model & model # router do you connect?

    Please provide your Toshiba's model & model #.

    Which firewall are you currently using? Which FWs have ever been installed on this computer?

    When did the problem begin? Sometimes an exact date is important.

    What changed? A hardware or software install or removal; an update to W7, or a program such as Adobe or Foxit reader; a Java update; a McAfee update?

    RF123
     
  3. Honey2aB

    Honey2aB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Yikes..lots of questions. Well, I did say to ask, didn't I?? LOL

    1. wifi..how on earth do I know my wifi speed
    2. Toshiba satellite laptop C650D-00D PSCOYC-00D003
    3. Whatever firewall my McAfee has, don't remember what other firewall has been on here..been awhile
    4. Router we got from our cable/phone/internet company..called SMC..I think the model number is WPAPSK/WPA2PSK
    5. Problem has been slowly getting worse over the last...few weeks?
    6. Only thing new installed as far as I know is the malwarebyte app. that was just a few days ago, there have been updates to adobe, java, McAfee updates itself.
    7. Firefox

    The IE9 that you suggested will have to wait till after I get back from superstore. Is that step there going to cause me grief, as in..oh no what the heck just happened and how on earth do i fix this?? because I seriously don't know how to fix anything.
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    1. Hover your mouse in the system tray over the wi fi icon.

    3. Is your computer's W7 firewall also on? SHOULD NOT be on.

    4. Nope. WPAPSK/WPA2PSK are 2 different encryption types.

    6. ANY update can cause problems.

    7. Which version of FF?

    . . . Don't know. You will have to ask for help if needed. I am unable to do it for you. 1 of the goals of this forum is for users to help other users, but if you don't feel comfortable, don't do it. :)

    Go to, as a test, www.weather.gov
    Is that slow?
    Some internet service providers have begun to reduce speed for torrent sites.

    IE9 Troubleshooting
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/How-to-manage-add-ons-in-Internet-Explorer-9

    FF troubleshooting
    http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/troubleshoot-and-diagnose-firefox-problems

    http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/troubleshoot-issues-with-plugins-fix-problems

    http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/troubleshoot-extensions-themes-to-fix-problems

    RF123
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,497
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Toshiba Satellite C650D-00D laptop supports up to 8 GB of DDR3 PC3-10600(DDR3-1333) RAM.

    Your laptop is running Windows 7 Home Premium SP1(64-bit) with what appears to be only 3 GB of RAM.

    Considering how cheap an 8 GB(4 GB x 2) kit is, and considering you like to watch videos in your laptop, you should seriously consider maxing it out with RAM.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Certainly a consideration, but why didn't the problem begin at purchase?

    Perhaps it shipped with more ram, some which is malfunctioning or had been removed.

    RF123
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,497
    First Name:
    Frank
    Go to Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - "Startup" tab.

    Write down ONLY the names in the "Startup Item" column that have a checkmark next to them.

    If the "Startup Item" column isn't wide enough to see the entire name of any of them, widen the column.

    Submit those names here in a vertical list.

    Make sure to spell them EXACTLY as you see them there.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  9. Honey2aB

    Honey2aB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    ok, unless I am severely retarded I can't figure out how to use that blasted snipping tool, and there is no way that I am actually going to write down every one of those blasted entries. hmmmm must think of something else
     
  10. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Try these steps, please.

    Screen shot
    screenshot

    On your keyboard, look for a key labeled "print screen" OR "PrtSc" OR "PRN SCN" or some variation.
    When you want to capture that which is displayed, press the print screen button.
    Open Paint [ start > programs / all programs > accessories > paint [ rarely MS Paint]
    Maximize Paint
    left click "edit"
    Left click "paste"
    file > save as.
    Save the file to any location of your choice.
    File name: your choice, for example: "filename"
    save as type: left click down pointing arrow. Left click jpg / jpeg
    Left click "save" / "ok".

    The file name has now been saved as filename.jpg [ or filename.jpeg ].


    Return to the thread.
    Left click "go advanced".

    Left click "manage attachments"
    left click "browse"
    browse to the location, on your computer, where you saved "filename.jpg"
    Left click filename.jpg
    left click "open"
    left click Upload"
    close window of upload screen after the file has been uploaded.

    enter text into the reply area.
    left click "submit"


    If there is information on the screen that you don't want to display, you can use the eraser [ looks like a bar of soap, left column, 2nd from the top. You can remove large areas by clicking on the dotted outline column button, top, right column, then drag your mouse while holding down left mouse button ] to surround that which you don't want displayed. Then, press "delete" on your keyboard. Then save.

    RF123
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,497
    First Name:
    Frank
    Read post #7 again carefully.

    I only need the names in the Startup Item column.

    I don't need any information in the other columns.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Text or images is fine with me, but Flavalee may prefer text.

    Honey2ab, please provide the information in the tab "startup"

    RF123
     
  13. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,952
    reopened per request.

    If you could, please generate the logs request by flavallee in post 7.

    thanks,

    v
     
  14. Honey2aB

    Honey2aB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Thank you so much
     
  15. Honey2aB

    Honey2aB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Ok here goes...yikes this took a while..seeing as my page doesn't widen had to hover the pointer over the items, then it would display for 2 seconds then disappear again.

    All of these items have a check mark

    SAIICpl Application...
    TOSHIBA Power Saver...
    TOSHIBA Zooming Utility...
    TOSHIBA Flash Cards...
    ELAN Smart-Pad...
    SmartFaceVWatcher...
    TOSHIBA HDD SSD Alert...
    Toshiba Volume Regulator...
    TOSHIBA ReelTime...
    Message Center...
    GoogleToolbarNotifier...
    SUPERAntiSpyware...
    Facebook Update...
    Ares p2p for Windows...
    Catalyst (capital R in a circle here) Control center...
    TOSHIBA Web Camera Application...
    TOSHIBA Service Station...
    Adobe Reader and Acrobat Manager...
    Apple Push
    McAfee SecurityCenter...
    QuickTime
    iTunes
    Java(TM)Platform SE Auto Updater 2 0...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089499

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice