1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

This may be a Stupid Question but...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by aidsup, Apr 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aidsup

aidsup Thread Starter

i have an HP Pavillion dv6 series laptop and I already worked out what ram is compatible to upgrade from 4gb to 8 gb. Am i better off buying 2 new 4gb card thingos and replacing the existing one, or can i just get 1 new one and add on to my existing 4bg one. I'm a gas service technician by trade so i understand that electronic modules and pcb controls breakdown or lose performance overtime. i'm hoping i can be a tightwad on this one but if its stupid just adding 1 new part onto the old one then i'll get 2. cheers

2. Oddba11

Oddba11

First Name:
    Jim
    Depends. With a quality brand, you can likely get by just adding a single stick. The only real way to know is to try. Buy from a retailer with a good return policy, and you won't be out anything but a little time if it doesn't work. I haven't upgraded OEM hardware in awhile, but crucial used to guaranty their RAM and had an easy RMA process.

3. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    what software are you running , unless its 64bit - you want see the additional memory
    Also what are you doing on the PC which makes you think you need the extra RAM?

4. aidsup

aidsup Thread Starter

sweet i'll give the one a shot for now n see how i go. just wanted to make sure this wasnt a big no no thing to do lol

5. aidsup

aidsup Thread Starter

Intel Core i5-2410M CPU @2.3GHz

4gb ram

64-bit OS