1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

This will challenge anyone,even the pro's

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Macs, Sep 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Macs

Macs Thread Starter

Heya guys,

I'm hoping that someone can help me sort this problem out. I am by no means a computer beginner and I believe that I've isolated the problem.

I had a fully working and fully updated installation of Win XP home SP2. Yesterday I uninstalled my trial version of AVG antivirus. It prompted me to reboot but I was in the middle of downloading Norton Antivirus so I didnt.
    After the download had completed I installed it with no apparent problems and opted to reboot.

Just before the XP login screen comes up an application error box pops up saying:

System.exe has failed to initialise press OK to terminate the application.

It provides the memory address of 0x00000005 aswell. Selecting OK brings up the exact same box immediately after. Selecting OK for the second box leads to a black screen with nothing happening.

This scenerio happens in every mode I start in, Safe mode, last good config and normal modes.

I've now installed WIN XP Pro on the same partition in folder called WINDOWS1(usually just Windows). I can browse the XP Home windows folder no problems.

I know that system.exe controls the starting and stopping of processes and believe that the exe works just fine. I think that the registry has become corrupted with 2 entries of different AV's.

Can anyone throw suggestions at me? I'm getting really frustrated and desperate...

Thanks for reading this ,
    John

2. xgerryx

xgerryx

Have you tried system restore. I'm not sure if the fact that you tried last good config would indicate this would be futile.

3. Bryan

Bryan