1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Those free online scans

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by unstresst, Apr 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. unstresst

    unstresst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    772
    ....My question is at the end of this message.

    ..I've run four different free online virus scans
    ...... virus found: Win32.Nimda.A
    ---------------------------------------------
    The first one gave me the option of 'auto clean'
    ..I ran it, then did it a second time....it showed the same files again
    ...after the third scan page finished, this scan page showed clean on it's third pass.
    -----------------------------
    the second one had a 'cure files' button ...I cliked it and ran a second scan there too......no files showed.
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    now after those scans were done and the 'cure files' button was used I scanned with a third online scan service.......it shows 18 infected files--{the other two just showed 9}
    that third scan also says those 18 files are....'disinfected'
    -------------------------------------
    Fourth scan found those infected files too and had 'auto clean' checked
    ran that a second time and it was clean
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    Then I searched computer and found freeware version of McAfee anti virus---{long ago disabled}--and reinstalled THAT and ran it's scan..............came back, all clear

    Those infected files that were..."cleaned" by the free online scans..........they won't be able to harm my computer any more....is that correct???
     
  2. winchester73

    winchester73

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,438
    Which scanners did you use?
     
  3. unstresst

    unstresst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    772
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    ran scans from each of these.....

    HouseCall

    Panda

    RAV AntiVirus Online

    eTrust Antivirus Scanner

    and the outdated norton scan too

    last report from each was..."files cleaned / disinfected"
    ...My computer / files out of danger now?
    ..
    ..If that freegin virus was able to send itself to others,
    would there be any mention of "sent" mail in the 'sent' folder??
     
  4. xgerryx

    xgerryx

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,092
    Sounds like your operating system is XP or ME, if so you will need to disable system restore before doing any virus scans.

    Also:
    The reason McAfee anti virus found nothing is probably because it is well out of date.
     
  5. winchester73

    winchester73

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,438
    Have you emptied your system restore? If so, run the on-line scans again, and you should be fine.

    Don't forget to set a new restore point.
     
  6. winchester73

    winchester73

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,438
    If you need the instructions ...

    Windows Me:

    1. Close all open programs.
    2. Right-click My Computer on the Windows desktop, and then click Properties.
    3. Click the Performance tab.
    4. Click File System.
    5. Click the Troubleshooting tab.
    6. Check Disable System Restore, click OK, and then click Close.
    7. Click Yes to restart. This disables the System Restore feature and will purge the contents of the _RESTORE folder when the system is restarted.
    8. After cleaning the infected files, repeat steps 1 through 7, except in step 6, uncheck Disable System Restore.

    Windows XP

    1. Click Start, and then right-click My Computer.
    2. Click Properties.
    3. Click the System Restore tab.
    4. Check Turn off System Restore.
    5. Click Apply, and then click OK.
    6. Restart the computer.
    7. Repeat steps 1 through 6, except in step 4, uncheck Turn Off System Restore.

    Then after you do this, please create a new restore point:

    Got to Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>System Restore. On the next page that comes up you will have three choices, choose Create Restore Point. Then click next type in a description "after cleanup" or something like that. Then choose "Create" then close.
     
  7. unstresst

    unstresst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    772
    ..Sounds like a plan.........MUCH THANX FOLKS
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Those free online
  1. chickie225
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    702
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/216920

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice