1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Thunderbird send button greyed out - but not on reply

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by gmhyman, Oct 11, 2013.

Advertisement
  1. gmhyman

    gmhyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    The send button is greyed out on Thunderbird for all accounts when I create a new email, or forward. Reply works fine. This was working just fine until 2 days ago, no apparent system changes (yes, I know that's usually a lie). Windows 7, sysinfo below. The spell check button is also greyed out when the send button is. The most recent symptom is Thunderbird going non-responsive at random times.

    I've tried removing/reinstalling as well as renaming the various appdata thunderbird directories and then installing to create a new profile - same problem. This leads me to believe it's something somewhat subtle external to thunderbird, but nothing else seems broken. There are postings from a couple of years ago on various forums about one particular extension causing this - never used it.

    Any diagnostic/solution ideas would be most appreciated.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Enterprise, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 520 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 7987 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -326 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 121793 MB, Free - 18349 MB;
    Motherboard: LENOVO, 2537GH6
    Antivirus: McAfee VirusScan Enterprise, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Koot

    Koot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,421
    What version of Thunderbird are you on? Click on 'Help' and then 'About Thunderbird' to see the version. The latest version is 24.0.1

    Make sure [for some reason] you are not working 'Offline'.
     
  3. gmhyman

    gmhyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Version is 24.0.1 which is the latest. It's not offline - remember the send button works for reply, but not forward or new mail, so it's nothing to do with on/offline
     
  4. Koot

    Koot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,421
    Does the mail you intend sending have an image in it, or attached? I recall there being a problem one time with an image re-sizing extension. Nevertheless, I would try temporarily disabling the extensions you have for Thunderbird and see if one of them (that may have just recently auto-updated) may be causing the problem.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Apparently a company computer. You should be looking for help from your IT department.
     
  6. Koot

    Koot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,421
  7. Koot

    Koot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,421
    The common denominator with the Send button being grayed-out on 'Forward' and 'New' mail is that you need to add one or more email addresses (in the To: line) for the mail to be sent to the recipient(s)...whereas when you 'Reply' to an email the recipient's [known good] email address is already applied to the To: line. That said, it appears something is amiss when trying to add an email address, or something is amiss with the email address itself you're attempting to add.

    I assume you are applying (adding) an email address for the mail to be sent to someone. I am guessing when you are attempting to add an email address you are doing so from the Address Book. Have you tried manually adding an email address to see if that makes the 'Send' button re-appear?

    Have you changed, copied or transferred the Address Book or any addresses in the Address Book recently, which may have caused something pertaining to the addresses you have in the Address Book to become corrupted or misapplied?
     
  8. gmhyman

    gmhyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Dammit you're right - when I fill in an address, it works. This appears to be a small behavior change that came in 24.0. Now I really feel stupid. Much thanks.
     
  9. Koot

    Koot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,421
    Glad to know it is working properly... :D
     
  10. JayMoreau

    JayMoreau

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    So I feel stupid, too, just like the original post-er. I had the same problem. Same reason :(. Thanks for pointing out the obvious. (y)
     
  11. Koot

    Koot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,421
    Glad to know it is working properly for you too... :D
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1110482