Tiff dowloading troubles with http

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cllander

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
5
The network at my work will not allow me to download tiff files over http. I was talking with the netwrok administrator and there are no restrictions in place. This appears to be an http issue and I have tried a number of different programs including httpclient, wget, IE, Firefox and CuteFTP, however none of them are able to download the file. They all hang after 200k. FTP downloading of the files however do work, but the ftp server I am downloading is not as stable as the http. Also I have tried to download the files from home using http and everything works fine.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
5
Are you d/l via IE? If so, have you checked the security settings? Do you even get a prompt to download or does nothing show up?
 

cllander

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
5
As I said in my post, I have tried a number of different programs and none of them will download it. Also, this is a network wide problem and not just one computer. One common denominator is that they are all running Windows (XP and 2000), Linux computers on the network are able to download the images.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
7,235
Are both the Unix boxes and the PC's themselves both going through the same proxies? How about DNS issues (though usually that comes with symptoms about nto being able to get to the domain to begin with)?
 

cllander

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
5
yes, the same proxies are being used. Even more confusing is that Linux has been installed on one of the computers through Virtual PC and that Linux can also download the tiffs, however the host computer that Virtual PC has been installed on can not download through Windows.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
7,235
Hrm what proxy are you using? Almost sounds like there is some rule in the proxy not allowin HTTP transfers of this file type over X k but is only applied to a specific OS.


With the symptoms your saying this really is smelling of a custom proxy rule being put in place.

HTTP tiff download stops at 200k for Windows but not Linux
FTP tiff works fine everywhere
Same machine running 2 different OS'es Linux has no problem and windows does.

Really you have narrowed this down to a proxy setting somewhere.

is Tiff the only file type that has this problem?
 

cllander

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
5
To be honest, I'm not sure what proxy is being used. I need to download these images houlry and have asked our IT guy to look into it, but I'm not sure how much of a priority he's given it. That's why I posted here. However, if a custom proxy rule was put in place he should know about it. The problem started when the company I work for moved to a new building and onto a brand new network.

A few minutes later.......

I just went onto the site (http://goes.gsfc.nasa.gov/goeseast/atlantic/ir4/) I've been trying to download from and discovered that it is not limited to just tiffs. The problem occurs for all files over 200k on the site. I thought I had checked that before. After that I went searching for tiffs on other sites and found that I can indeed download tiffs from other sites, just not from the one I need to download from. Sorry I should have checked that first. So, it now appears to be site related (?), but why can I get into the site and not download files over 200k from it via http.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
7,235
Hrm maybe they have in their proxy that you can view other sites but accepted sites but if you go to any of these "other sites" your limited to 200k download?

Maybe they have to add the sites you need into their accepted sites.

Though this doesn't sit well that the linux ones work and the Windows ones dont unless this rule is again applied to a specific OS.

I am really thinking this is proxy related not site change related... Are you sure the proxy wasn't changed when the site was changed? Maybe they just happened in the same timespan?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top