1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

time program

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by utanja, Apr 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. utanja

    utanja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    in redhat9 i was able to click on the time and date and get a screen which would allow me to update the system clock from The atomic clock in Bolder....

    how can this be done in Slackware 9.1.....the radio button is there but i get
    the following
     
  2. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    You need the ntp utility.
    HTH
    lynch
     
  3. utanja

    utanja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    i do google search but only come up with HTH a chemical for clorine... :confused:

    i know RedHat has a utility..i think it is call rdate...but i cannot fine it to download...i need to be able to adjust time on Slackware 9.1

    thank you so much for your help.... :)
     
  4. tnik

    tnik

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    735
    if you searched for HTH (which is short for Hope This Helps) then try searching for a NTP utility ;)
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    As Lynch said, you need NTP (Network Time Protocol). It comes on the Red Hat Cd's and I would assume that it is on your Slackware CD. It would be stupid of them to not include it. Most Linux distributions will include the majority of Open Source applications with their distribution.
     
  6. utanja

    utanja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    now i totally redfaced and embarrassed... :eek:

    i must learn more of amerikan acronym more quickly....lol

    is the redhat program...rdate?
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I use NTP on my RH9 server.
     
  8. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218271

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice