Time Service not running

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

crazytim77

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
30
I am trying to sync my clock, and have been trying these different solutions for around 3 hours with no luck:-
  • Disabling Firewall
  • trying different time servers
  • waiting until another day
  • rebooting computer
  • unregistering service via CMD - says access not permitted or something

I have noticed that Windows Time is not running in the services list. Is this the problem? How do I fix this?

Cheers
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910
Greetings crazytim77

Try This

Start > Run > cmd > net start w32time

if you get a error reply with it in your next post
 

crazytim77

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
30
Error message:

The service name is invalid.

More help is available by typing NET HELPMSG 2185
 

crazytim77

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
30
Folder has two entries:
default - REB_SZ - (Value not set)
Start - REG_DWORD - 0x00000002(2)
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910
Download The Attached File > Unzip it > Double CLick on it To Run It > A Notepad Will Pop up > Copy and paste Everything here
 

Attachments

Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
Just incase you have trouble opening the rar file just do the following

Open the time to internet time and copy and paste the following into the server box after server box is highlithted

tick.usno.navy.mil

then press apply and then press update now..

it should work like a ewel
 

crazytim77

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
30
thanks for that - where should I paste it?

By the way I already tried the tick.usno.navy.mil server - doesn't work....
 

crazytim77

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
30
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time]
"Start"=dword:00000002

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Parameters]
"Type"="NTP"
"NtpServer"="tick.usno.navy.mil,0x1"
 

crazytim77

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
30
I am now getting a different error message:

An error occurred getting the status of the last synchronization. Element not found.

tried three different time servers and it says the same on all of them.

However Windows Time is not in services list and says "started" next to it.

Any other suggestions would be great.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top