1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Times New Roman not Displaying Correctly

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Opeth, Mar 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Opeth

    Opeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Hi everyone,

    I haven't been to this forum in some time; it's nice to see that it's still around :)

    As the title of the thread suggests, I'm having trouble with Times New Roman in Word. I've only tried a few other fonts, but they all seemed okay. I don't have any other software with a variety of fonts to test, but everything looks fine online.

    The font looks horrible, to the point of being almost illegible. There are gaps/missing portions in letters, it requires heavy zooming just to tell the difference between a "c" and an "e" and good luck trying to see the small horizontal line in a capital "A". I'm a writer and this is killing me.

    I'm running Vista Home Premium (yes, I'm poor and can't afford a new PC). The only thing I've installed recently was a VSTi (virtual MIDI instrument) called CV Piano, which was a strange install (it wanted to install a driver, but it didn't say for what, so I didn't let it), but should have been a safe install/uninstall given the reviews and manufacturer. Kaspersky Pure 3.0 detected nothing. I ran hijackthis and put the logfile through hijackthis.de. Nothing popped up. I did a System Restore, but - oddly enough - the oldest Restore Point on my PC was immediately after installation of CV Piano. I've been thinking that I've been noticing overall sluggishness of my computer, but that's probably just paranoia as a result of a different important thing going wrong.

    Sorry if I went on too long. I figured it would be better to share too much information rather than too little in case there was something pertinent.

    I have no idea what could be wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated! This issue's driving me crazy...

    Thanks!
     
  2. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    Hi, could be something as simple as a corrupt font file. Have you tried reinstalling the Times New Roman font?
     
  3. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Try re-installing that package and letting it install the driver/font - which is likely to be for displaying/printing the notes as they are played.
     
  4. Opeth

    Opeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for the replies!

    Keebelah,

    This may be the dumbest question ever, but how would I go about re-installing the original Windows version of Times New Roman? Web searches didn't help much.

    DaveBurnett,

    I may try that option if re-installing TNR doesn't work, but Windows came up with a warning advising me not to do so while the program was installing. I believe it was unsigned.

    Thanks again!
     
  5. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    Here's my TNR fnt file (zipped)

    Unpck it somewhere and then right click on the ttf file and install it.
    Mine is from Windows 7 64-bit but that makes no difference for the font file.

    BTW when you print, is the font also bad?
    If not then maybe it the graphcis display having problems.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Opeth

    Opeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks!

    I installed it and checked it in Word. At first it seemed to have fixed the problem, so I opened a document I'd been working on. That document showed the messed up version. I closed it and re-installed your version of TNR again and it failed to fix the problem this time. I'm confused. ???

    I haven't tried printing yet, but I've thought of it. I have very little ink and paper, so I'm trying to hold out, lol.

    Thanks again for your help!
     
  7. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    The font is embedded in the document.
    I suggest you open the docuemtn select another font for all of it and the select Times New Roman again.

    If the font is isntalled ond shows up correctly but only not in this docuemtn then it is quiet celar that the problem is with the font embedded in the document.
     
  8. Opeth

    Opeth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Hi,

    Sorry, I don't think I wrote it properly in my last post. Even new documents created now have the same error as before. It worked only until I opened a document I'd been editing, now it won't work with any. At least I think it worked (it's late here - 6:50 a.m. and I'm still awake); I tried all the "c's" and "e's" I could and for a brief minute, all seemed right with the world.

    Now re-installing it does nothing... :(

    Thanks again. I'm heading to bed but will check this again tomorrow (today, I guess) night.

    Edit: I also tried changing the font and then back again like you suggested, but to no avail.
     
  9. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    Read my PM
     
  10. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    If it's solved, I suggest you press the 'Mark Solved' button to close the post:)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144343

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice