1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Tiny Firewall

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by tyrnauer, Dec 21, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tyrnauer

tyrnauer Thread Starter

I'm new to DSL and firewalls. After installing the above, I received the following message repeatedly: Someone on APPL? 65.185.178.22 wants to send an ICPM packet to your machine, Details:TCPIP Kernal Ddriver. What's ICPM? Should I permit it?

I had a lot of interrupts from known sources, so I permitted these, with something like known parameters. Is this the way it works. Is there a better (free) firewall?

Thanks very much.

2. Rollin' Rog

Rollin' Rog

I'm a Zonealarm user (older version) and not familiar with Tiny's configuration options. But Tiny has a very good reputation and may well be preferable to the current and apparently more troublesome versions of ZA.

An ICMP (I think that's what you mean) packet is what is known as a "ping". Like a Radar "ping" it is meant to locate an object (your computer) and reflect back a timed packet which tells the souce how long it takes to reach you with data (and whether you are there). ISPs and other providers do this routinely in mapping their environment and maintaining their systems.

But there is really no reason why you should accept it, even though it is harmless.

As a general rule, "just say no" and make your configuration options to that effect the default.

You will be bombarded with pings and other kinds of probes. Learning what they all mean is really quite overwhelming. Best just to set things up properly and forget about it. Do check now and then to see that nothing INSIDE you pc is attempting to access the internet that is not related to a program you choose to run.