1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

To Techguy: Signatures

Discussion in 'Site Help, Feedback, & Announcements' started by Couriant, Apr 9, 2004.

Advertisement
  1. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,890
    First Name:
    James
    When you updated your site (pretty neat btw, very user friendly! :D), I cannot seem to change my signature, as in keep what i have but some links I made are not showing the right color (apparantly sky blue is no longer an option) so when I go and change it to a new color it says I have exceeded the limit of characters? Is this an error or did you intentionally set the character limit for signatures to 500?

    Also, how about an icon on a post (like your report icon) so when a post is solved, you can click it to close it and marked as solved? (or at least click on it to let your mods know it's solved?)
     
  2. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    Mine wasn't affected by the upgrade, but I didn't use the Sky Blue color so that may be the issue.
     
  3. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    I tried to add the red ======== line above....
    Donating to TSG helps to keep the site going so please do your part and help.

    But got the was over my limit also so I could change it.

    I just tried deleting from my sig and got...
    1. Your signature can not be longer than 500 characters.

    I deleted the " . " after or tried to.
    Work like you don't need the money
    Love like you've never been hurt
    Dance like nobody's watching
    Sing like nobody's listening
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,890
    First Name:
    James
    Nitehawk, try amending your sig (ie, remove a link) and see if you get the message I got (the same as hewee got)
     
  5. TechGuy

    TechGuy Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    14,245
    First Name:
    Mike
    Yup, signatures are now limited to 500 characters.
     
  6. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    OK Mike but why can't I delete from what is there now?
    Is it because it is over 500 now?
    Like I may have 550 characters now and what I was deleting was only taking it down to 540 characters. So still over the limit.

    How do I find out how many characters I have there now?
     
  7. TechGuy

    TechGuy Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    14,245
    First Name:
    Mike
    You're grandfathered with your current signature, but if you change it, it must follow the new rules. Only way to check for length is to submit... if it tells you it's too long, it's too long. :)
     
  8. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Well guess I will just keep it as it is. :)

    Thanks Mike
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,890
    First Name:
    James
    Oh well, I really liked my colored signature too...
     
  10. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    Try to shorten a few things.
    Spybot Search & Destroy to just Spybot or Spybot S&D
    Lavasoft Ad-Aware to just Ad-aware
    Pull out the color=sky blue and let it just be black

    These may get you under the 500 limit
     
  11. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    NiteHawk,

    Just think how many characters your is with the color code and all the renaming in the links.
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,890
    First Name:
    James
    You know I did and I STILL got the 500 limit message. I don't think mine is...
     
  13. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    You may do better to taking out the color code on the ones where the code showes up or does that still have you over your limit?
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,890
    First Name:
    James
    Took out the color coding and shorten it. :( They took out the character checker too so I can't check if it's a fault... I even took out two links and still had a message.
     
  15. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    What a paim in the rear. :(
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218851

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice