1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2 - Demo version

Discussion in 'Games' started by yuval, Apr 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    I installed it on my computer and it doesn't seem to work.
    Whenever I try to lauch it it loads up windowed then crashes without a warning message and generates this log in the installation folder -
    I understand it might have something to do with DirectX so I added DXDiag's log as well -
    I got some trouble aquiring this DXDiag log as well, it told me that "there may have been problem accessing DirectShow the last time the program was used" and I decided to bypass DirectShow this time (Otherwise I get the blue screen of death and then kicked back to desktop).

    Any ideas?
     
  2. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Download the latest video drivers for your card from www.nvidia.com, and then download and install DirectX again.
     
  3. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    I have found myself doing this so many times...
    Well I'll do it again just in case :)

    For my own sake -
    Drivers:
    Mirror 1
    Mirror 2
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,994
    First Name:
    James
    Run the DXDAIG again and run the tests for the Display functions. It looks like it's conflicting with the DirectDraw and also apparantly it shows you don't have a joystick attached? (since when does that affect the games...)
     
  5. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    I downloaded the drivers and directX again but it didn't help... :(

    I ran the tests in display (DirectDraw and Direct3D) and they were all successful.

    Anything else? (How will I check if it's conflicting?)
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,994
    First Name:
    James
    Conflicts are found in Device Manager.

    It may be a problem with the card itself because it did say there's a problem with the Hardware for DirectDraw...

    Under Display, try changing the hardware accellarator thing slider to FULL. or None, whichever the slider is opposite to .
     
  7. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Yes, but where in the device manager?
    I've found 2 "problematic" hardware parts but they were simply not installed and weren't conflicting with anything (I believe they have to do with my old 56K modem, it's a PCI system management device and an unknowm device).

    Also, I have no hardware acceleration bar in my display properties, only in sound, and I doubt that have to do with anything...

    The only interactive stuff there is shown in this pic
     

    Attached Files:

  8. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Start->Control panel->System->Device manager tab
     
  9. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    What should I do there?
    I looked for devices with little yellow circle at the bottom, but as I said none of them were conflicting hardware.
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,994
    First Name:
    James
    This is in Display icon. Go to Settings > Advanced.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Didn't help :(
    Also, it made internet pages scrolling a lot slower!

    Any other ideas?

    Just a few more notes regarding the error message, I don't have C:\Backup folder in my computer, and the only places I've found WinMain.cpp was in my Borland C++ compiler (Have no idea what this file does, though).
     
  12. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    *BUMP!*

    Can anyone help me?
     
  13. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Another BUMP... :(
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,994
    First Name:
    James
    Only suggetion I can give you is contact the software manufacturer.
     
  15. yuval

    yuval Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Ok, thanks :)
    (I don't think they'll bother spending time on an old game's Demo either way...) =\
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220393

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice