1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Too many tool bars

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by bussoboy, Jul 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bussoboy

    bussoboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Nearly every time I go onto the internet I seem to get a new tool bar from some search engine or other. The problem is these tool bars are starting to clog up the top of my screen and I cannot get access to some boxes. The question is - how do I get rid of some of the tool bars I no longer need?

    Tech Support Guy
    Computer details.
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 991 Mb
    Graphics Card: SiS Mirage Graphics, 32 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 72104 MB, Free - 35704 MB;
    Motherboard: LENOVO, GA-8S661FXM-775, ,
    Antivirus: AVG Internet Security 2011, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Uninstall them. Or turn them off in add-ons or extensions.
     
  3. iKarnt

    iKarnt

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    And watch out for the sneaky installs in the future.....
    Ie adobe flash. There is a check box and if ticked will sneak in a toolbar with the flash update.
    Other programs often have it around 4 or 5 "nexts" in the setup, often people just click click away without paying much attention, and yet another one sneaks onto your system. So beware of the check boxes, some a down right ├╝ber sneaky.
     
  4. BLucy

    BLucy

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    You should uninstall the software of the specific toolbar and it should be also removed.
    Maybe you'll need to delete some registry keys too, i already done it myself :)

    Good luck!
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059611