Too much CPU usage - what can I delete/uncheck from startup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

arnstein

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
10
I've been trying and failing to encode an mpg file from an avi and think it's because I have too much stuff running in memory. Can somebody tell me what I can ask Hijack this to delete/fix? Thanks. arnstein

Logfile of HijackThis v1.95.0
Scan saved at 12:40:27 PM, on 9/10/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\Smc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\sstray.exe
C:\Program Files\InkSaver\InkSaver.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
C:\Program Files\Winamp3\winampa.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\gearsec.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\gearsec.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\Program Files\Speed Disk\nopdb.exe
C:\Program Files\Eprompter\ePrompter.exe
C:\Program Files\Hijack\HijackThis.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar=about:blank
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch=about:blank
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant=about:blank
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page=C:\WINDOWS\System32\blank.htm
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TCASUTIEXE] TCAUDIAG.exe -off
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nForce Tray Options] sstray.exe /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SmcService] C:\PROGRA~1\Sygate\SPF\Smc.exe -startgui
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InkSaver] C:\Program Files\InkSaver\InkSaver.exe hide
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {06C5A25C-0F08-49B1-BD92-192A61B85158} (ddm_download.ddm_control) - http://bins.dynamicdesktopmedia.com/cab/ddm_control.CAB
O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
Try looking at the StartUp Tab in MSCONFIG and disable what you don't want.

Other than that I don't see much... Inksaver I never heard of, and for some reason you have C:\WINDOWS\system32\gearsec.exe twice. Do you know what that could be?

Also what is C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
You can check these :

1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar=about :blank
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch=about :blank
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant=about :bla
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page=C:\WINDOWS\System32\blank.htm
O16 - DPF: {06C5A25C-0F08-49B1-BD92-192A61B85158} (ddm_download.ddm_control) -
 

arnstein

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
10
Inksaver is a program that regulates inkjet usage. Gearsec is something DVDXCopy installs, and when you uninstall prev. versions it leaves old stuff behind. I found a webpage listing the complicated uninstall process. AVG is an anti-virus software.

Thanks for the help. arnstein
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
running two antiviruses could slow you down. You might need to disable one of them
 

arnstein

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
10
I don't think I'm running two AVs but that my AV program loads 2 different modules at startup.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
From the looks of that log of yours you have both AVG and Norton running on startup.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
NProtect does take up memory too... YOu might want do disable/uninstall it. (Personally I never found any good use for it apart from annoying me alot)

C:\Program Files\Winamp3\winampa.exe is not really needed
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InkSaver] C:\Program Files\InkSaver\InkSaver.exe hide (unless you use this often)

also

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
(not too sure on this function. I don't have this listed in my processes so I'm guessing it's something you have installed)
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
Also what is this program

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TCASUTIEXE] TCAUDIAG.exe -off
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Originally posted by Tidus4Yuna:
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
(not too sure on this function. I don't have this listed in my processes so I'm guessing it's something you have installed)
This will show up in your log if you have accessed start /run /msconfig
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top