Too much light

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dano_61

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2004
Messages
1,521
Hi

I took some pictures at the beach and they are very bright ( overexposed) , i have two questions, can i fix them and how do i change settings,
i have a Sony DSC-S-75

Dan
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,224
Maybe .. If not too overexposed .. or underexposed
Adobe Photoshop or Elements has a Shadow/Highlight tool that can make some amazing adjustments.
Can you attach a sample photo ???
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,224
Most of my digital photos usually need some Shadow/Highlight adjustments to suit me.

Too much adjustment can result in Noise ..
But this one looks like it's too overexposed ... The picture info is missing and I can't drag it out.
Looks like you're into the camera settings first
 

Attachments

dano_61

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2004
Messages
1,521
This is a bad example, its way too gone, i think i need to write this bunch off and read more on my settings

Thanks Noyb
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,224
Yes .. Check back if you find the adjustments in the camera .

Here's the Light <> Dark levels of your original Picture ...
you can see that about 2/3rds of the dark info is missing .. (the left side of the level Histogram)
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
1,598
I have an old dsc s-70 and there are many settings to study...

I can't even find it at the moment...sorry

Next time you could try spot metering(on a darker area) in manual mode.

Up the shutter speed, again in manual mode

In aperture mode try dialing in some exposure compensation to the minus side

just a few thoughts. I'll see if I can find mine which should be very similiar
 

dano_61

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2004
Messages
1,521
Thanks Wowzer

I think it maybe time for a new camera, the battery life really sucks its older camera but i will try that

Dan
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
361
I also had a Sony from that era, and it was not a bad little camera when outside.

OK. Here's what the EXIF setting on your picture said. It tells us exactly why it's overexposed.

ISO: 100
Shutter: 1/1000
Aperture: f2.1
Mode: Aperture Priority
Metering: Spot

In aperture priority, the lens was fixed wide open at f2.1. The Sony meter saw a bright scene and tried to cut the exposure as short as possible. It maxed out at 1/1000 second, but that wasn't fast enough Still too much light. Scene is overexposed. In general, use a wide aperture when light is poor. Use a smaller aperture if there is strong light.

The quick fix here would have been to set the aperture to something like f11 in aperture mode and the Sony could have cut off the light at a slower speed. Or you could have gone into Program mode and it would have found a suitable aperture/speed combo. Or you could have picked 1/1000 sec in shutter priority mode, and the Sony would have picked the right aperture.

I and the other photo enthusiasts could type pages of stuff about exposure. It is not a difficult concept, although too many authors make it seem so. Your old Sony is a nice camera to learn on, because it does offer manual, program, shutter, and aperture modes.
 

dano_61

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2004
Messages
1,521
I also had a Sony from that era, and it was not a bad little camera when outside.

OK. Here's what the EXIF setting on your picture said. It tells us exactly why it's overexposed.

ISO: 100
Shutter: 1/1000
Aperture: f2.1
Mode: Aperture Priority
Metering: Spot

In aperture priority, the lens was fixed wide open at f2.1. The Sony meter saw a bright scene and tried to cut the exposure as short as possible. It maxed out at 1/1000 second, but that wasn't fast enough Still too much light. Scene is overexposed. In general, use a wide aperture when light is poor. Use a smaller aperture if there is strong light.

The quick fix here would have been to set the aperture to something like f11 in aperture mode and the Sony could have cut off the light at a slower speed. Or you could have gone into Program mode and it would have found a suitable aperture/speed combo. Or you could have picked 1/1000 sec in shutter priority mode, and the Sony would have picked the right aperture.

I and the other photo enthusiasts could type pages of stuff about exposure. It is not a difficult concept, although too many authors make it seem so. Your old Sony is a nice camera to learn on, because it does offer manual, program, shutter, and aperture modes.
Thank you Antimoth very informative, i will try that
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
70
"Metering: Spot" didn't help at all.
It was trying to expose that narrow band of trees in the exact center of the photo to 18% grey, and succeeded.
If you see a cross in the center of your screen, that is the ONLY place where exposure will be measured.

I only use spot metering when trying to get something dark within a bright area to expose well, rather than as a silhouette.
The background will blow out like your pics did, so I only use it in select situations.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
1,598
"Metering: Spot" didn't help at all.
It was trying to expose that narrow band of trees in the exact center of the photo to 18% grey, and succeeded.
If you see a cross in the center of your screen, that is the ONLY place where exposure will be measured.

I only use spot metering when trying to get something dark within a bright area to expose well, rather than as a silhouette.
The background will blow out like your pics did, so I only use it in select situations.
I actually use spot-metering quite a bit.

One key is to know where to meter then recompose. If that option is available in the camera being used.

On newer cameras matrix and multi-point metering has improved greatly unlike older systems.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top