1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Took out graphics card and now blank screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by samleiser111, Dec 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. samleiser111

    samleiser111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Hey guy's I was just taking out my current graphics card to see if i could do it because I am planning on purchasing a new card.
    However once i plugged it into my motherboard instead of displaying the screen like it normally does, it instead shows a black screen however power is still getting through to it as the fan is still running.

    So i tried taking the card out and booting with onboard graphics and that worked fine. So im thinking how do I set it to boot onto onboard over my gts 250 then maybe try installing the drivers from there in windows.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Did you plug the power cable into the back of the video card?
     
  3. samleiser111

    samleiser111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    yes the 6 pin connector is in the back of the gpu
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Its not a driver issue as drivers only load after Windows loads.

    In the BIOS set the primary graphics/display device to PCI-Express or PEG using the onboard graphics, then turn off the system, plug in the graphics card and plug the monitor into the graphics card and try booting up again.
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Was the power off when you did all this?
     
  6. samleiser111

    samleiser111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks i tried what you recommended with the bios seemed to have done the trick :) its a mystery why it didn't work when I originally did that after putting it back in for the first time :S
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Glad it did work (y)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031915

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice