1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

tool bar

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lalelo, Feb 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lalelo

    lalelo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Some how I have dowloaded a tool bar. It is at the bottom of my screen at all times, even when I am viewing pictures. It just wont it to go. How can I get rid of it . Can any one help please :mad: It has a search box, which takes me to a search web site but when I close the site down the tool bar is still there.
     
  2. zahrav

    zahrav

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    do u fully wanna get rid of it?
    if so, go to add/remove programs in control panel. you will see what software u have downloaded - just click remove and it should do the job.
     
  3. lalelo

    lalelo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    there is no mention of this tool bar in add/remove
     
  4. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    You prolly have that and more

    SpywareBlaster http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
    AdAware SE http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html
    SpyBot S&D 1.3 http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/

    DL them (they are free), install them, check each for their
    definition updates
    and then run AdAware and Spybot, fixing anything
    they say.

    In SpywareBlaster - Always enable all protection after updates
    SpyBot - After an update run immunize

    Do these and reboot before the next step.

    Then get HiJack This http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html, put
    it in a permanent folder (C:\HJT) , run it , DO NOT fix anything, post the
    log here.
     
  5. Dr Dave

    Dr Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Will give you a procedure to fix it yourself to keep it from being re-infected.
    [1] Download, install and run Webroots, Spysweeper
    [2] Download. install and run Firefox 1.0 Browser.
    [3] Get yourself a good virus program like Avast Anti-Virus which automatically updates its program and definitions.
    [2 and 3] are free programs, Spysweeper, which has won numberous
    awards is well worth the money. http://www.webroot.com/
    http://www.mozilla.org/
    http://www.avast.com/eng/avast_4_home.html
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/329244

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice