1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Tor - How do i config with Firefox?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by SpyKiller112, Jul 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    I guess we are a visually driven society.

    Right on the link your provided.
    Step Three: Configure your applications to use Tor
    Then change your browser to HTTP proxy at localhost port 8118. (That's where Privoxy listens.) In Firefox it's Tools|Options|General|Connection Settings. In Mozilla, this is in Edit|Preferences|Advanced|Proxies. In Opera 7.5x it's Tools|Preferences|Network|Proxy servers. In IE, it's Tools|Internet Options|Connections|LAN Settings|Advanced. You should also set your SSL proxy (IE calls it "Secure") to the same thing, to hide your SSL traffic too. In IE, this looks something like:
     
  3. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    And that is for a normal proxy. If you use anonymous proxies get the SwitchProxy extension for Firefox :D
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Tor is like an anonymous proxy. Read about it on their website. It bounces your connection all over the Internet using other Tor Onion Routers before it hits the destination.
     
  5. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Then you may want to set the proxy script for Tor and use it through the extension, unless it works fine without the 3rd party extension.
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    You just set your proxy settings to localhost and the port number that Tor uses.

    Changed my first post above.
     
  7. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    [​IMG]

    So i need this extenstion for mozilla in order for Tor to work?

    EDIT: BTW... I knew how to access the connection settings, i just didnt know how to make this whole thing work. I would always get that error message.
     
  8. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    No, you don't need an extension, I don't know why he posted that.
    What is the content of your Tor window?
    Is Privoxy running? Post a copy of your Privoxy config file.
     
  9. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    I never said you needed it, I just said it would be convenient.
     
  10. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Ok. It may work now. How can i tell for sure?
     
  11. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Start browsing the net :D
     
  12. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    try entering 127.0.0.1 in the proxy IP field, instead of 'Localhost'
     
  13. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    I mean.. How do i know if i am being protected?
     
  14. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    the point of Switchproxy, is that I assume that your browsing speed will be considerably slower using TOR, and at some point you will want to have a direct connection. With Switchproxy, you only need to disable the Tor proxy, with one click, instead of going into the firefox options dialogue.

    As for checking to see if it's working, try
    http://www.ipchicken.com/

    If the IP displayed isn't yours (to find your real IP address: go to Start -> Run -> type cmd. In the command dialogue type ipconfig and press return key to see your IP address) then it's working.
     
  15. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    So is this whole proxy thing hurt you more than help?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/382003