1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Toshiba External USB not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kevier, Apr 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kevier

    Kevier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Moms Toshiba External USB 3.0 USB Device (external Hard drive) not working right it has her photos and ect... on it but when i plug it in it doesn't show up under my computer it is installed because its in my devices i hope to get it working without formatting it please help





    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B940 @ 2.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 4043 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1797 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 466265 MB, Free - 353000 MB;
    Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. allheart55

    allheart55

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
    Have you tried another USB port?
     
  3. Kevier

    Kevier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    240
  4. Kevier

    Kevier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    have tried 3 different laptops with win 7 and the same thing

    it installs fine
    but when its done nothing cant open or anything
     
  5. Kevier

    Kevier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    bump
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,791
    if you have tried 3 different laptops, chances are that usb key is toast. Did you have the pics backed up? If not, I'd say they are gone.
     
  7. Kevier

    Kevier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    no not backed up but like i said it does install and it powers up and can see it in my devices
     
  8. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    Don't reformat just yet------
    I know how important family pictures are---especially pictures of family members who have
    passed on....

    call best buy & ask for the Geek Squad---
    ask them how much they want to get your pictures off a hard drive that might have failed----
    then U can call around to private computer repair shops in your area----maybe a little cheaper.
    this will cost some money to have the pictures recovered----
    but if its worth the money too U--they can try
    before U reformat & they are gone for good---

    as a last resort I belive U can mail the drive to a data recovery lab & they
    will try to take the drive apart & read the plates that way----
    I believe this will be the most expensive option when U just have to have the data / pictures
    back & are willing to spend hundreds of dollars
    the price might have come down--last time I heard anything about sending the drive off to a
    lab was not cheap.
    James

    just looking on Google I saw a offer from 60$ & one for 295$-----
    if there is a best buy in your area I would start with them (geek squad)
     
  9. Kevier

    Kevier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    so that's my only option
    Nothing else i can do ?
     
  10. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,791
    I'd say it's cooked, unfortunately. If windows doesn't see it, I'd try putting puppy linux on a usb key, boot to that (it runs onlly in RAM, no hd space used save swapfile), and see if you can get the data off.

    If not, it's most likely gone. Not to beat a dead horse (or any horse, for that matter), but data you don't have backed up is data you neither want o rneed.

    thanks,

    v
     
  11. 20_2_Many

    20_2_Many

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    It is possible that Disk Management will show your external disk as Foreign, Unknown, Not Initialized, or simply missing a drive letter. Here is a link that may help explain the situation and how to get it to work. Be very, very careful if you attempt any corrections to the disk or disk status, one wrong click can render all data lost. There is a lot of information in this link, take your time and read through it, you may decide it is best to get assistance from a repair facility, especially if you remain unsure. Continuing at your own risk, is a risk.
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc779854(v=ws.10).aspx
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146185

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice