1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

toshiba laptop disabled the fn menu

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Cris_Cr0ss, Aug 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cris_Cr0ss

    Cris_Cr0ss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    820
    I seem to have disabled/deleted the Fn (function key) menu which resides at the top of the screen. My Model is the A200-Ah9.

    Does anyone know the name of the software that does this? Because it seems that since it is not there I cannot use the Fn key to disable/enable the touchpad
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,839
    Since it may be a laptop, have you tried using the "Fn" key in the lower Left corner along with the F-Key?
     
  3. Cris_Cr0ss

    Cris_Cr0ss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    820
    yes the key is Fn+F9 but when i press them together nothing happens which is the whole reason im asking this in the first place.
    Also i had software which when you move the mouse to the top end of the screen a drop down menu comes up showing all the Fn functions which you can enable disable by clicking and yet it seems to have disappeared. Any idea what it is called?

    Lastly a new problem has arisen, i've only had this laptop for a couple of days and I can't make the recovery disks.

    I've uploaded what occurs about halfway through the making of the first disk
     

    Attached Files:

  4. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,839
    You need to give Toshiba a call on this one.
    Post back your results with the phone call.
     
  5. Cris_Cr0ss

    Cris_Cr0ss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    820
    After giving em a call it seems i had to run the recovery thing so im just waiting for the recovery thing to run before i post any new info, thanks anyway
     
  6. Cris_Cr0ss

    Cris_Cr0ss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    820
    i got the software back but the recovery disk is still not possible to create


    :edit:

    arrite well i just took it back to staples and replaced it, ima go make the recovery disk right away this time. thanks anyway
     
  7. protrader

    protrader

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hello
    It's not more than a week that I have bought an A200 TOSHIBA laptop. I have the same problem. At the first day my Fn+F9 worked and I saw that I nicely enables/disables the touchpad but at the present time it does not work. I used the recovery disk but it did not worked too. I wonder what I should do. I hope that you can help.
     
  8. protrader

    protrader

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hello Again,
    I called TOSHIBA and they told me that you should refer to TOSHIBA.CA site and download the touchpad on/off driver and install it, otherwise you can go back to seller to change your laptop. I installed the driver which is for windows xp whereas my windows is Vista but it worked. You can do the same, I hope you will be successful to solve the problem.

    Here is the link: http://209.167.114.38/support/download/ln_bymodel.asp

    Cheers,
    Protrader
     
  9. fred2028

    fred2028

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    495
    Why not download The Toshiba Value Added Package from Toshiba's website. It comes with Flash Cards (the thing that drops down when Fn is pressed), Power Saver, Zoom, etc. I did that when I upgraded my Toshiba Satellite a100 to Vista.
     
  10. protrader

    protrader

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    fred2028,
    do you mean that it's better and more complete?
    could you please send the link?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/614041