1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Toshiba laptop doesn't turn on, on the first try.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Asphyxiant, Feb 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Asphyxiant

Asphyxiant Thread Starter

(NOTICE: I'm not very tech savvy, so if I'm missing any information please be nice). I've been getting a reoccurring black screen problem, where i'll push the power button, get the battery, power, and wifi lights to switch on, but a black screen. It'll take at most 4 tries to turn on the laptop, and for a while the problem gone, but recently I've had to deal with it again.

My laptop is attached to a cooling fan, which is then connected to peripherals like my mouse, a wacom tablet, and a kraken headset. When turning it on, my cooling fan starts whirring, however my peripheral's external lights do not turn on.

Specs:
    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    CPU: Intel Core i7 3610QM @ 2.30GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
    RAM: 8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA Portable PC (U3E1)
    Graphics: Generic PnP Monitor ([email protected]) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Toshiba) 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M (Toshiba)
    Storage: 931GB TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 (SATA)

2. managed

managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Allan
    Do you have the same start up problem if the laptop's battery is removed first ?

EDIT : perhaps you can't remove the battery easily, what model Toshiba laptop is it ?

3. Asphyxiant

Asphyxiant Thread Starter