1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Toshiba or Compaq??

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by John95, Jul 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. John95

    John95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    I'm buying a used laptop and have to choose between a Toshiba Satellite or a Compaq cq56. Toshiba has a 1Ghz amd dual core processor with 1Gb of vram (e-300), and the Compaq has a 2.4GHz single core amd processor with 256 vram (V140). Which of the two have more power, and has a better build quality?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    do you have the exact models
    vram = video ram
    whats the main ram ?

    whats the laptop going to be used for
    its possible the 1gb vram is shared with the main ram
    the 256 vram maybe a dedicated memory and still also be able to use memory from the main ram - But that may depend on exact model and looking at the pcs listed - that does not seem the case and 256 is not quoted - but not looked at all the models

    see here
    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...pe=SupportManual&prod=HP Compaq Presario CQ56
     
  3. John95

    John95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Hp Compaq cq56

    • AMD V Series Single Core V140 Processor 2.3GHz (64bit)
    • 2GB DDR3 RAM
    • 250GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
    • 15.6-Inch Screen, ATI Radeon HD 4250
    • ATI Radeon HD 4250
    Toshiba

    • High-definition widescreen LED-backlit TFT-LCD with TruBrite technology (1366x768)
    • 320GB HD
    • AMD dual-core E-300 1.3GHz accelerated processor (64bit)
    • 4GB DDR3 memory
    My uses: light 3d graphics, basic photo editing, and light/med gaming



    Sorry, I was a little off on the specs
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    running windows ? what
    do you have the actual cpu models - you can do a check on performance there
    but i would prefer the 4GB RAM to 2GB memory

    if on vista - thats easy - do not get the 2GB
    Windows 7 - i would say 2GB is minimum

    a screen of 1366x768 is not great for photo editing - again depending on the resolution you have the images at and if for printing or electronic display (web/screen) use

    but a lot of machines now have that screen resolution
     
  5. John95

    John95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Toshiba is dual core APU processor (is both CPU/GPU) and the Compaq has a single core CPU separate from the GPU. Do you know of any websites that compare processors?

    Btw, I use Linux :)
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    yes

    http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php

    but you need the model number
    then look at the numbers to compare
    NOTE where its better if higher and better if lower
     
  7. John95

    John95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    89
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    there are two sets of numbers

    .............................. higher lower
    AMD V140................ 683 927
    AMD E-300 APU....... 595 959

    nothing in it

    Btw, I use Linux -

    what memory would be better - i would think 4gb better than 2gb - but dont play withlinux

    unless theres other features you need - like firewire, express slot, pcmcia slot, usb
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059880