Toshiba Pro 4300 & PS2 devices

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

davidn

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
9
All - pointers in the right direction please...fresh install of XP but PS2 devices do not work...XP says PS2 devices are working properly but they are not (USB devices are fine). Have downloaded all the relevant drivers but to no avail...have seen this issue before but for the life of me I cannot remember - tia - davidn :confused:
 

davidn

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
9
Hi Dave - yep pointing devices are set to enabled...there are 2 options in the bios for pointing devices - Auto-Selected and simultaneous but neither makes any difference when set - davidn
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
How many PS2 ports do you have? And PLEASE tell me you haven't plugged the mouse into the keyboard and vice versa.
 

davidn

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
9
ok - have only 1 x PS2 port which should except mouse OR keyboard but neither of them work. If I uplug/plug in the keyboard the lights on the keyboard light up momentarilly but thats about it :confused:
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
What does the device manager have to say about PS/2 devices when one id plugged in. Is it possible that they have been de-activated in the current hardware profile.

Also were you aware that you can use a splitter cable and plug both mouse AND keyboard into the same PS/2 slot when it supports either.
 

davidn

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
9
Am only running 1 x hardware profile and is enabled. In device manager it states:

PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Device type: Mice and other poinintg devices
Manufacturer:MS
Location: Plugged into PS2 mouse port

device status: The device is working properly

:confused:
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
How about the mouse controls in control panel? (I presume it is a mouse, what type? )
 

davidn

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
9
PS2 Compatible mouse is listed under hardware...the mouse I am using is a standard intellimouse (PS2 compatible) but have tried another mice just to be sure but still the same prob :confused:
 

davidn

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
9
interestingly I can get the usb mouse to work ok (has only 1 x usb port) but no ps2 devices - davidn
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Strange!. I tried mine and I get both mice at the same time. Try deleting the PS/2 ports in device manager (make sure you show hidden devices as well) and let them be re-installed.
 

davidn

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
9
Thanks for all of this Dave but very silly question but there are no PS/2 ports to delete only PS/2 compatatible mouse under Mice and other pointing devices which when I remove and reboots it finds a new device but still no PS/2 mouse?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top