1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Toshiba Satellite - Poor Performance

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by freegem, Oct 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. freegem

    freegem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    I am using a Toshiba Satellite L355D-S7815 (not brand new, but not terribly old). Recently its performance has decreased pretty drastically. Booting the computer takes quite some time, although my primary machine is very quick and running windows 7 which boots quickly so maybe I am just spoiled? Also, at boot time, after the screen with the microsoft window logo and the sideways scrolling loading bar below, the screen is black for maybe 20-30 seconds before windows actually loads. When opening a new browser window or clicking a link on the internet it freezes up for about 10-15 seconds before anything happens. On a few occasions I have actually had it completely power off while I was using it (not shut down, but just straight up turn off). Things like this are starting to add up and really worry me. It seems like my fan has stopped working (an issue I have had with a previous laptop, also a Toshiba Satellite) because there is no air current where it should be blowing out hot air and the area on the side where the fan is supposed to blow out gets too hot to touch when I don't use my external fan. I'm using Vista 32-bit with Service Pack 2. My hardware details are included in a text file. I'm using AVG Avast Antivirus and scan regularly. I have also scanned for registry errors etc. and fixed all the problems that were found. I am wondering if maybe a reformat would help? Maybe switch to Windows 7 or XP? That's kind of a last resort though because in my experience it can be a pain in the butt (and I have never reformatted a laptop), so I would just like to know what kind of solutions I might try to get the computer back to its normal smooth-running state.

    P.S. - I know that someone who used to use the computer regularly would look at porn somewhat frequently, but would that really cause these "freeze ups" and performance decreases?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,198
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I think you need to sort out the heating issue - have you tried blowing out all the dust , using a can of compressed air
    OR
    do you think the fan has stopped completely
    it would be worth running speedfan http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php and see if the fan is working and the air just blocked
     
  3. freegem

    freegem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    I'm running SpeedFan right now and it says Fan1: 0 RPM, Fan2: 0 RPM, Fan3: 0 RPM. As far as temperatures it says HD0: 38C (pretty constant), Temp1 gets up to 52C+ at times, and Core gets up to 56C+ at times and has a flame icon next to it. I've attached a screen shot. I blew into the fan opening and a small amount of dust came out, but there is still no air current. The external fan I am using works very well. The area that used to get hot without a fan stays very, very cool with it. Do you think we should still concern ourselves with this issue since the external fan pretty much fixes it?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TexMexAlex

    TexMexAlex

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Tip: Only use one anti-virus and that is either AVG or Avast!.
     
  5. freegem

    freegem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Oh sorry I thought AVG was the developer of the Avast antivirus software. I am only using AVG.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,198
    First Name:
    Wayne
    RE XP and Windows 7 - you need to check you can get all the hardware drivers for that
    goto the manufacturers website for the exact model and see what drivers they have
    theres a windows 7 upgrade advisor here http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/get/upgrade-advisor.aspx

    before re-installing or changing the OS _ you probably have a factory restore partition where you can also crerate recovery CDs - I would make sure you have those created

    first
    I would look at the startups and reduce those
    a couple of ways to do that

    1) using paxportal and google to identify what each of the startup files do and then keep selected or deselect under msconfig
    2) Do a clean start and then add back items you want to keep

    start>
    in the search box - type - msconfig
    startup tabs
    then look at all the programs ticked
    this is a very useful resourse to see what each of those programs do
    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_content.php
    scroll down about 2/3rd of the page

    section starting
    you can then download the zip file extract and run the file on your PC - and then use find on the webpage to search for your programs (cntrol key + f key )

    quite a long winded process but I have used it successfully on many PCs and speeded up

    NEXT

    a clean boot - have a read here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135
    with this process it will remove all the processes and startups that are not essential for the PC
    at least with that - you can see straight away if the PC boots up quicker
    then its a case of adding back whats needed

    another useful resource is black viper for checking the processes that are needed and ones that can be stopped
    http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm
     
  7. freegem

    freegem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Well the jack where the charger plugs into the laptop has been pushed inside of the laptop so now I have to wait for it to be repaired. I did get a chance to try a clean boot before this happened though and it definitely seemed to work much better. One of the startup processes was called PowerReg and I read in a few different places that it has been reported as malware/spyware so maybe that was the problem? The pacs-portal website requires some login information in order to download their files so I wasn't able to use that.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,198
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so they have ... nolonger free - what a shame , there a quite a few other sites,

    bleeping computer have a database here
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/
    you just have to use the alphabet link at the top for each one - so a bit slower than pacsportal where they are all listed in one long document

    with powerreg - its a case of knowing the exact name of the application and the directory its in
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/958792

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice