1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Toshiba Wireless Lan Mini Card

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Tripletsakj, Jan 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    i have a toshiba Satellite a10 laptop. psa10c035wm. i have update the driver of the wireless lan mini card to vers. 7.82.0550 as i was unable to access the wireless card with the earlier version. i am still unable to have this card access the internet. it was working before, however when i changed my modem to rogers cisco it says unable to connect. The switch is on. i noticed it said firewalled, therefore turned this off.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    What firewall?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 8 or 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Identify your network if it is not obvious.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
     
  4. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    as u know i am a beginner. i am running windows xp professional on a very old toshiba laptop.
    i have 4 other computers (for the grandchildren) 3 using windows 7 and the other windows xp.
    two have wireless cards, (HP)
    the firewall is AVG.
    the screen shot is complicated for me so far haven't figured that one out yet.
    george.
     
  5. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    i did all that you asked for the black window. nothing comes up.
    i am pretty sure i followed thedirections
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    You can't open a Command Prompt window? Any error message?
     
  7. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    on my lan i have the following;
    two areas
    first one has picture of two computers
    local area connection connection 2)
    connected,firewall
    Intel(R) Pro/100Ve Network...

    second area which is straight across
    has picture of two cojmputers with an X
    wireless Network connection 2
    not connected, Firewalled
    toshiba wireless Lan Mini
     
  8. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    yes opened the prompt window. did all that was asked. no error message.
    also of note i had the wirelessworking for a bit, now down again. i found recently that the unsecure links get connected whereas the connected one do not .
    i put wpa- psk and tpik and it worked for a bit, added a program(microsoft outlook) and nowdoes not work.
     
  9. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
     
  10. Tripletsakj

    Tripletsakj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    guess u have given up on my problem. that jupiter site is not worthy of compliments from me they could not or would not fix this problem. it is a working wireless card therefore it should be able to access my secured wireless network. the unsecure does so this should access the unsecured
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm still waiting for the requested ipconfig /all and Xirrus screen shot. You simply copying my post does no good--just wastes space. I need to see the outputs to possibly be able to help.

    You did say that you are using AVG. Uninstall it and run the AVG Remover. You can reinstall it after testing.

    I have never heard of "that jupiter site" and don't know what you're talking about. Or how it concerns me, unless they had you do something to make the problem worse.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086467

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice