1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Tower computer working but laptop not connecting with wifi

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Psiclops, Feb 11, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Psiclops

    Psiclops Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    I'm not techie so hope I can make sense with this.
    I'm on Virgin and have a Tower computer upstairs which is working fine but my Hitachi laptop downstairs suddenly won't connect to the internet.
    I have tried turning it off and on without result.
    The system info below is of course the upstairs compie and not the downstairs laptop

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2310 CPU @ 2.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 16264 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -1988 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (695 GB Free); G: 3725 GB (2824 GB Free); T: 1862 GB (1112 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Foxconn, 2ADA
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    Windows Network Diagnostics troubleshooting says unable to fix all issues found.
    Problems found
    1 Problem with wireless adapter or access point.
    Investigate router or access point issues - failed
    Reset the wireless configuration - completed
    2 Reset wifi adapter - Failed
    Wifi doesn't have a valid IP - configure not fixed
    Investigate router or broadband modem issues - Failed

    I have not changed anything with the laptop - it was working fine - hadn't even logged off.
    Do hope somebody can help - many thanks
     
  2. Psiclops

    Psiclops Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    I have realised my computer is wired in to the modem - not using wifi connection - neither does my phone which I use on 4G
    When I try to connect my phone on wifi there is no connection.
    It connected briefly on the phone for a few seconds and then went off again.
    Maybe I should switch off the modem and turn it on again but not sure how to do that - do I just kill the power and then restore it?
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    60,435
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi Psiclops, and welcome to TSG.

    I am not sure how much help anyone here can give you without knowing the brand and exact model number of your modem.

    Your Tech Support Guy System Info Utility listing shows a Foxconn 2ADA motherboard. I believe that motherboard is used in desktop computers. That listing will NOT help us to help you with any problems on your laptop.
     
  4. Psiclops

    Psiclops Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Problem solved. Switched off modem and turned on again and eventually all was well. Hopefully.....
    Thank you cwwozniak for your note which I have just seen.
     
  5. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    60,435
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Glad to hear you got it sorted out.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1222987

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice