1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Transfer data to hdd.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cool breeze, Jul 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cool breeze

    cool breeze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    I have installed a new hdd and want to get all the data transfered from the old disk to the new, is there a way?.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. techkid

    techkid

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339
    First Name:
    David
    Stuff like your My Documents folder is a matter of copy and paste. Applications, programs, games etc, would require you to uninstall and reinstall to the new drive.
     
  3. cool breeze

    cool breeze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    <Stuff like your My Documents folder is a matter of copy and paste. Applications, programs, games etc, would require you to uninstall and reinstall to the new drive>.

    Thanks Techkid,

    It was the app's etc etc i was hoping to do. Don't have use of another computer to transfer,another 2days of loading(gg).
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Go to the hard drive manufacturer's site and look for an application that will copy everything from the old drive to the new one.
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Copy and paste what you can and reinstall everything else. If you clone another hard drive from another system, it will never boot up.
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The original post doesn't indicate this is two systems. It indicates one system, two hard drives, an old and a new.

    If you're replacing the hard drive in your computer, get the free cloning software, and you'll have everything transferred over in no time.
     
  7. cool breeze

    cool breeze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    <If you clone another hard drive from another system, it will never boot up>.

    Hi Rich-M

    Just managed to clone the drive, it has booted o.k, all programs are still there, so far so good.

    Used Acronis true image.

    Sorry about that DoubleHelix, should phrase things better.
     
  8. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Well sure if it is the same hardware...I thought this was from another system is all...
     
  9. cool breeze

    cool breeze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    No problem Rich-M, as before,
    "i should phrase things better".
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483366

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice