1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Transfer office from old PC to new without disk

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Steedward, Aug 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Steedward

    Steedward Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Hello there,

    My current office computer is slowly dying, so I'm going to get a fresh one - probably one of the valuve range from scan.co.uk. Anyway, this current computer (a Dell *shudders*) is loaded with MS Office Small Business 2007. This copy of office, I wish to transfer to the new computer when this one is decomissioned. Thing is, I can't find the office disk anywhere (maybe didn't even have one in the first place?), so I'm wondering how I go about installing office on the new system.

    I've liberated the CD Key from registry, so that's fine, but how do I actually get the files? Is there any alternative to torrenting a copy of office, and activating it with my legit key?

    I was going to ask Microsoft this, but they wanted to charge me £199.99 for the pleasure of an e-mail :S

    Many thanks
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,853
    IF you have a retail copy and not a OEM that came with your computer you can try and download it from http://www.microsoft.com/office/downloads/

    Some people have used this download site for their OEM copy when they had to rebuild their machines, but not for a New machine and trying to MOVE their OEM copy.
     
  3. Steedward

    Steedward Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    :O

    What a fantastic link that is! It flashed up a message, after entering the CD key, that it was OEM software and thus probably already on the system - but if it wasn't I should proceed to the download... and it worked :D

    Now, there's no way, while it's installing, it can read the windows CD key and say hoi, this is a different version with a different key and scoff at me? This rig is Vista, and the one replacing it shall be 7.
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,853
    But, since it is a OEM version, it can NOT be MOVED to another system. It is linked to the Vista machine.

    You are going to have to buy a new copy to install it on a NEW Windows 7 machine. When you try this from a different machine, the site and or install will need to have the Key Code again and it will not match the required machine information.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1014121