1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Transfer

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by caitlynsmith, Mar 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. caitlynsmith

caitlynsmith Thread Starter

I am switching hosts, because the one I am using is horrible. Can anyone tell me (step by step, I am new to this), how to transfer all of my stuff from one host, to another without corrupting my files. I also need to know how to log back in to WordPress, because after my site crashed last night, I am unable to even see the login page. Please help!

2. NegativeKelvin

NegativeKelvin

What host are you using? If it's WordPress.com, there's not all that much you can do to transfer it.

If you're on another hosting company, you'll need to login to cPanel and export the database via PHPMyAdmin. Then you'll need to use FTP or WebDAV to download all of the files from the server. Once you get a new host, you'll need to import the .SQL file to PHPMyAdmin on your new host, change the SQL login information in wp-config.php to match the new host and then upload all of the files using FTP or WebDAV.

3. caitlynsmith

I am using doteasy.com, but would like to switch to HostMetro. I am not hosting through WP. Doteasy.com has been no help at all, and has disabled public access. Is this going to be a problem in transferring? How do I go about logging in to WordPress if I can not see the login page?

4. NegativeKelvin

NegativeKelvin

5. caitlynsmith

I should've worded that better, my bad. Once the transfer is complete, will I then be able to login to WP again?

6. NegativeKelvin

NegativeKelvin

Yes, but if they've changed the .htaccess file you'll need to edit it.

7. caitlynsmith