1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Transferring files between Win95 and XP

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Kaneohe, Jan 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kaneohe

Kaneohe Thread Starter

I have a new XP machine and need to move about 2000 data files from my old Win95 machine onto the XP. How should I do this? I tried using the files transfer wizard with a serial laplink cable, but it takes forever (6+ hours for 100 files).

I tried setting up a home network using the network wizard, but was not sucessful----I'm a total novice at home networks. Help! I have a Linksys EtherFast 10/100 5 port Workgroup Hub and both machines have ethernet 10/100 cards in them---is this enough to allow my XP and Win95 machines to talk?

Any suggestions on How-To articles for such a task?

Can someone explain why I can't just connect an ethernet cable between the two PCs???

Thanks
    Kaneohe

2. Huon

Huon

I am a bit bemused, I would have thought a simple crossover cable between the two cards was the simplest and most direct method. (Must be a crossover cable). I have a permanent linkup that way, XP to 98SE, and I can see no reason why it wouldn't work for 95. Once linked, run the wizard on the XP machine to produce a floppy to set up the other machine.

3. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

You have a hub and two machines with NICs, so you're all set. If you just want the network for a temp hookup, install the TCP/IP protocol on both sides, make the workgroup names the same, and share the disks on one of the machines, and you should be all set. You'll need to manually set the TCP/IP addresses, make one 192.168.2.1 and the other one 192.168.2.2, and make sure that NETBIOS over TCP/IP is checked in the advanced properties for both machines.