1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Transffering and splicing multple *.txt to Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by farmakologen, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. farmakologen

farmakologen Thread Starter

Hi,
    I'm a novice in VBA programing and cann't seem to find a solution to my problem anywhere. I've found similar codes to what I'm looking for, but I don't have the skills to change the code to fit my needs.

My problem?
    I have loads of data (hundreds of files), in *.txt files, that I want to organize in Excel.
    The files are named by date and an item nummer e.g. 080130;13 (the 13th sample from 2008/01/30).
    I would like to import the data in excel and cut out specific data from the txt and discard the rest. In addition the next imported file should be placed next to the first. I think you get the idea.

I'll attach samples of the txt and a worksheet with the layout I would like to have.
    The txt does not represent the whole file since it is over 1 MB.

I found a code writen by Rollin_Again on the thread: http://forums.techguy.org/business-applications/697763-excel-importing-multiple-files.html
    It was great but I couldn't make it work for my situation.

Anyway, can somebody help me?

Attached Files:

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

I'll have a look when I get to work in a bit. I assume these text files are being produced or exported from another application? Will they always have the same layout with the same labels and types of data? Will the text files all be stored in a specific location from which they are processed and then deleted or moved?

Regards,
    Rollin

3. farmakologen

Great!