Transparent UI on my screen.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Hitman84

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
36
I play World of Warcraft, ALOT of it in fact and tonight I noticed that that the bottom bars of the UI are always present as white and transparent lines. So if I open a paint program for example and bring it down you can see the white lines that match up PERFECTLY to the WoW UI. The thing is it's ONLY the bottom bars, nothing else thats always in the SAME place for the WoW ui. Did they burn into my screen or is something else screwed up?

thanks for any help.
 

Blink182

Banned
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
602
whats happened is the game or something has sort of locked up and frozen. If you logoff your computer you should be ok.
 

Hitman84

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
36
no, it's been there for a while Im pretty sure. the UI on the bottom never moves so it's static and I tend to play WoW for 8 hour periods. I have the feeling it's screenburn. is there a way to fix it? it can be seen over my desktop wallpaper and other such stuff.

I remember reading something about having a full white screen and leaving it there for a number of hours, does this work and is it safe?
 

Blink182

Banned
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
602
Some Questions:

1. What Operating System? And Service pack
2. What type of screen? eg. WXGA? WSXGA? WUXGA?
3. Type of computer: Desktop? Laptop?
4. Make: Dell? NEC? ASUS? Acer?
5. Version of WoW
6. Amount of RAM
7. Age of screen.
8. Do you have the computer turn off your screen or do you use a screen saver or both?
 

Hitman84

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
36
1. Xp with SP2
2. not sure what you mean, it's an L90d+ LCD 19 Inch
3. Type of computer: Desktop
4. Make: Dell? Alienware
5. Version of WoW: Latest
6. Amount of RAM: 2 gig
7. Age of screen. 2 years roughly.
8. Do you have the computer turn off your screen or do you use a screen saver or both? I use a screen saver only. Like I said though I'm positive the image is from World of Warcraft's UI. which is always in the same spot on the screen, even when the char moves around.
 

Blink182

Banned
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
602
Thanks.

8: Switch the computer to have it turn of the monitor after a set period of time. This will prolong usage.

Can you still see the image when you turn on your computer and the XP Loader comes on?
 

Blink182

Banned
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
602
ok. Then you do have screen burn. Possible screen shot?

Screenshot:

1. When u on desktop hit the PrtSc button (next to pause break on left and Ins on right)
2. Open up paint and press CTRL+V
3. Save file and attach here.
 

Hitman84

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
36
don't have digi cam and my phone doesn't take pictures of any distinct quality to show it.
 

Blink182

Banned
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
602
thats ok.

Take it to place of purchase and let them fix it. I cant figure a way unless someone else can?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Members online

Top