Transplant M.2 ssd drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

daveelmo

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
2
Hello, i have a laptop with an M.2 ssd which contains OS and games. The laptop has died so i have bought a new one which has a spare M.2 slot. So can i just slot the old M.2 into spare slot and play the games? or is there more to it?

thanks
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,438
No, there is more to it. For a program to run, it must be installed [well for almost all programs other than very simple ones] When a program is installed, it copies files to it's own folder AND to the windows and or the system32 folder. In addition, the registry is amended to show the location of these files. While it is technically possible to make the games run without actually doing the install, it requires a pretty high degree of skill. It is one of those things that if you have to ask how, you do not have the skill to accomplish the task.

In short, reinstall the games and you will be good to go.
 

daveelmo

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
2
OK thanks for reply, but all of this is on the first M.2 ssd, everything on the 1 drive.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,438
Makes no difference; you must install the program in whatever operating system you are using. If you are using the os on drive 1, then the programs must be installed using the os on drive 1. If you are using the os on drive 2, then the programs must be installed using the os on drive 2.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,438
You can simply reinstall the programs on whatever drive they are now on. This will copy the .dll files to the relevant folders and make the registry changes for you. It will not take up much more room.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,067
If the OS and the games are on the same drive the games might work if the OS works. It's impossible to say for sure, you can try it and see, it won't do any harm.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,438
If the OS and the games are on the same drive the games might work if the OS works. It's impossible to say for sure, you can try it and see, it won't do any harm.
Using the os from another laptop may work however there are going to be activation problems. OEM type windows lic are tied to the original hardware. He can always just double click the .exe file for the game and see if it runs. He may get lucky and it will run. I doubt it however it costs nothing to try.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,067
Using the os from another laptop may work however there are going to be activation problems. OEM type windows lic are tied to the original hardware. He can always just double click the .exe file for the game and see if it runs. He may get lucky and it will run. I doubt it however it costs nothing to try.
Yes, activation will be a problem, I forgot about that.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top